Recent Searches
Clear
Hawaii Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Hawaii Island Grand Circle Island Tour

star-4.5260 Reviews
|
Hawaii County, United States
Safety measures
icon10 to 12 hours  (Approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Safety measures
icon10 to 12 hours  (Approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Don’t worry—here are some similar options


Safety measures
icon10 to 12 hours  (Approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

This Big Island circle tour hits all the highlights of the stunning Big Island of Hawaii.  While riding in a comfortable minibus, watch out the window as the landscape changes with every bend in the road, from tropical, misty valleys full of ferns to a barren, black lava coast. This Grand Circle island tour includes round-trip transport from Kona, with pickup and drop-off at your hotel.
  • Full-day Grand Circle tour of the Big Island of Hawaii
  • Admire the greenery of the tropical rainforest
  • Purchase lunch at the Volcano House overlooking the Kilauea caldera
  • Round-trip transportation from your Kona hotel is included

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

This tour makes it possible to see many Big Island highlights in one day, without worrying about logistics. 

Additional Details

Pickup included
Saved to wishlist!
Driver/guide
Transportation by air-conditioned motorcoach or minibus
Hotel pickup and drop off from Kona hotels
Local taxes
Food and drinks (unless lunch option is selected)
Gratuities

Departure Point

Hapuna Beach, Hawaii 96743, USA

We pickup starting from the Hapuna Beach area and work our way down to Waikoloa and into Kailua-Kona.

Departure Time

6:45 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • A light sweater may be needed at the volcano area and sturdy walking shoes are required
  • Passengers with asthma and other respiratory problems should please consider other tour offerings to avoid potential health problems resulting from exposure to fumes
  • As we cannot predict volcanic activity, features may vary daily depending on conditions. In an effort to make this an unforgettable experience, the tour operators will take you as close as possible to the volcanic activity
  • Lava sightings not guaranteed
  • Special Needs requests must be called in to the local supplier AT LEAST 1 week prior to tour date. All special needs requests are handled and accommodated on a situational basis.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Steam vents may affect travelers with respiratory problems
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 25 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Polynesian Adventure Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Hawaii Island Grand Circle Island Tour?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Hawaii Island Grand Circle Island Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Hawaii Island Grand Circle Island Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Hawaii Island Grand Circle Island Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Hawaii Island Grand Circle Island Tour?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Hawaii Island Grand Circle Island Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Pick up with e-mail confirming actual pick up time at hotel a plus so didn’t have to wait a hour at pick up point." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
260 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 260 reviews
star-2
Don’t waste a full day of vacation
Natalia
, Jul 2021
12 Hr tour that was mostly driving. Difficult time hearing/understanding driver talk about island. The highlight of the trip was going to volcano national park but was too short and spent more time at this sweet bread company to get food that we were responsible for paying and was mediocre. Didn’t even have time to sit and eat it after two hours of waiting in line for it. Then spend 30 minutes at a candy company, then spend 45 minutes at a coffee company and then see some small water fall instead of going to Akaka falls or waipo valley. I’d recommend just driving on your own.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Mahalo for your review - we appreciate the detailed feedback and will share it with our management team.
star-4
Driving tour with brief stops
Vickie_F
, Jul 2021
Pick up with e-mail confirming actual pick up time at hotel a plus so didn’t have to wait a hour at pick up point. Driver was knowledgeable but at times difficult to understand. Lunch was to be on your own and this was misleading. At our pick up point we were given a choice for pre-order from a specific restaurant to expedite service with expectation that we briefly stop to get orders and eat on the bus. When we got to the bakery it did not run smoothly plus there were a number of other items such as premade salads and sandwiches which were not offered and the the stop ended up being 30 minutes longer than scheduled.
star-1
Poor Communication
Adam_B
, Jul 2021
I ended up not going because it was impossible to get in touch with the tour company. There was no way to contact the driver. The stated departure time was 6:45am and that there would be hotel pick up. By 8am with no confirmation or sign that a driver was coming to pick us up, I cancelled only to be called at 8:35 nearly 2 hours later that the driver was in front my hotel. This company needs to drastically improve communication with customers. I felt completely powerless in the situation with no way of contacting anybody.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Aloha and thank you for sending us feedback and are sorry to hear that you weren't able to go on tour. Mahalo.
star-3
Great with a few hiccups
Carters
, Jun 2021
The tour itself was wonderful and the tour guides were very knowledgeable. My husband and I really enjoyed ourselves. I only gave it 3 stars because the wrong pick up location was given to us at confirmation and we almost missed the tour. There was no way to get in contact with Polynesian Adventure Tours and they wouldn’t respond to emails. A receptionist at the location we were at got ahold of the driver. Although it wasn’t his fault, he gladly picked us up from where we were and he was very apologetic. I would suggest the company improves upon its communication standards and send out text or email the night before trip with confirming information. Beyond that, we had a blast!
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-1
Disappointed
Janet_F
, Jun 2021
None. The trip was canceled after about 45 minutes due to a power line in the road. Unfortunately we could not get another
star-5
Great family experience
Alyssahsieh
, Jun 2021
The tour was great. Pickup was timely and schedule was as planned. The van was clean and maintained. The driver was friendly and welcoming. The tour group was indeed one ohana (family), held together by our tour guide that referred to us as cousins! Our tour guide, Dennis, was fantastic. My twin 11 yos learned much Hawaiian language and culture. Shaka Shaka!!❤️
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Great trip!
Mackenzy_K
, Jun 2021
Seeing the falls and volcanoes was very cool. The tour guides were very knowledgeable. Just be ready for a very long day!
star-4
Fun Trip around Big Island
Anon123444
, May 2021
Very fun experience. They picked us up at the airport location since we were flying in for a day trip from Oahu to big island. Very prompt pickup. Drivers were really friendly and had lots of fun stories to tell. Stops were really scenic and we had enough time at most. Wish we had more time at the volcanic national park. One thing we wish they had was complimentary water bottles. Otherwise great tour!!
star-1
Overpriced and disappointing
Eleanor_B
, May 2021
Very disappointing and grossly overpriced. The tour guide had no personality and seemed incredibly disinterested. The group was too large, the lunch was cold - I will say the baked goods were spectacular - and the day dragged horribly. Half of the stops were for purchasing when most of us wanted to see more things, not buy overpriced shortbread - which turned out to be awful. The stops at the VNP were nicely organised but bring plenty of water, you do not get many opportunities to buy any and they do not provide drinks. If this had been half the price I think it would have been reasonable but for $180 you can nearly hire a car on Turo (at their outrageously inflated pricing) and do the tour yourself which is a better idea in hindsight.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Great trip, very kind and knowledgeable guide
Corrigan_G
, Apr 2021
The calerda was incredible to see, as were the lava tube and steam vents. The drastic difference from Kona to Hilo was so cool to see, too.
1 traveler found this review helpful

Product code: 2360_B0001

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Hawaii Island Grand Circle Island Tour
Hawaii Island Grand Circle Island Tour

star-4.5260

10 to 12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$0.00

star-565

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$173.77

star-4.594

45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$403.63

star-5226

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$160.49 $144.44

star-5213

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$229.32

star-4.520

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$189.99

star-547

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$250.26

star-5143

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$186.99

Explore Similar Things to Do