Recent Searches
Clear

Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

star-4.5687 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Cairns, Australia
Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon7 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 7 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Explore the lush beauty, amazing wildlife and rich heritage of Tropical North Queensland on this customizable full-day trip to Kuranda from Cairns. Travel to this enchanting rain forest village aboard the historic Kuranda Scenic Railway, and choose from a variety of activities including visits to the Tjupakai Aboriginal Cultural Park and Rainforestation Nature Park. Hang out with koalas and exotic birds, browse local markets and opt to include a delicious buffet lunch. At the end of the day, glide through the treetops back to Cairns on the Skyrail Rainforest Cableway.
  • Day trip to Kuranda from Cairns
  • Experience the wildlife, history and lush landscape of Tropical North Queensland
  • Enjoy spectacular views of Barron Falls on the Kuranda Scenic Railway
  • Ride the Skyrail Rainforest Cableway for aerial views of the verdant forest
  • Explore the markets and wildlife attractions of Kuranda during free time in the village
  • Choose from tour options that include Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park and Rainforestation Nature Park
  • Pickup and drop-off at Cairns and northern beaches hotels included

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Choose from multiple tour options, all including the Kuranda Scenic Railway and Skyrail.
Saved to wishlist!
Cairns Hotel pickup and drop-off
One-way trip on Kuranda Scenic Railway
Skyrail Rainforest Cableway
Rainforestation Nature Park (if option selected)
Kuranda Boarding Pass
Written itinerary available in German, Italian, French, Spanish, Japanese and Mandarin
Food and drinks, unless specified
Birdworld, Kuranda Koala Gardens & Butterfly Sanctuary (own expense)
Any other optional activities not mentioned

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

Pickup is available from selected hotels in Cairns - please contact the operator after booking to confirm your pickup location and time.
Create your own perfect day in the beautiful rain forest of Tropical North Queensland with the choice of five different itineraries showcasing the best of Kuranda. Explore indigenous culture at the Tjupakai Aboriginal Cultural Park, including didgeridoo demonstrations and a heritage dance performance. At Rainforestation Nature Park, take an exciting Army Duck tour and observe animals such as birds, kangaroos, and koalas. See the Itinerary section below for a description of each option.

All itineraries include a one-way ride aboard the historic Kuranda Scenic Railway. During the 1.5-hour journey, learn about regional history as your train winds through Barron Gorge National Park and wraps around mountain curves for spectacular vistas. Cross Stoney Creek Bridge and chug by gorgeous waterfalls before arriving at the charming Kuranda train station. 

To return to Cairns, get an aerial view of the rain forest as you glide above the treetops on the 4.5-mile (7.5-km) Skyrail Rainforest Cableway. Ride in a 6-passenger gondola and disembark at two different vista points to take in fantastic views and explore the forest via a boardwalk. 

Hotel pickup and drop-off in Cairns is included with all options.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park
Choose Tjapukai Package option if you would like to visit here. Discover the world's oldest living culture at Tjapukai Cultural Park - showcasing Aboriginal and Torres Strait Island culture through traditional dance, storytelling and more.
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Not Included
Stop At:  
Australian Butterfly Sanctuary
The largest butterfly flight aviary & exhibit in Australia. Situated next to the Kuranda Markets, it is home to over 1500 tropical butterflies. Wander through the aviary's lush tropical gardens and breeding laboratory to learn more about a butterfly's life cycle & behaviour.
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Not Included
Stop At:  
Skyrail Rainforest Cableway
Glide over and through the canopy of the ancient rainforest and marvel at the spectacular views from Skyrail Rainforest Cableway. There are two stops along this gondola journey where you can alight and explore the rainforest from within.
Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Rainforestation Nature Park
Choose the Rainforestation Package if you would like to visit this wonderful nature park. See Australian wildlife in their wildlife park, and take an amphibious Army Duck tour through the rainforest.
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Not Included
Stop At:  
Kuranda Scenic Railway
Take a historic journey on the Kuranda Scenic Rail, travelling through the rainforest and along the mountainside of Barron Gorge.
Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Kuranda Koala Gardens
Visit this wonderful Wildlife park to see iconic Australia wildlife. Feed and pat the tame wallabies and kangaroos. Discover wombats, freshwater crocodiles, lizards, snakes and much more! Koala photos are also available.
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Not Included
Stop At:  
Barron Gorge National Park
See the might Barron Falls from both the Skyrail Rainforest Cableway Edge Lookout, and at a stop on your journey on the Kuranda Scenic Rail.
Duration: 10 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Barron Falls
See the might Barron Falls from both the Skyrail Rainforest Cableway Edge Lookout, and at a stop on your journey on the Kuranda Scenic Rail.
Duration: 10 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Birdworld Kuranda
Immerse yourself in this wonderful free flying bird exhibit. See and enjoy the company of hundreds of rare and beautiful exotic and Australia native species in the lush tropically landscaped setting.
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Not Included
Pass By:  
Down Under Tours - Day Tours
Down Under Tours is Tropical North Queensland’s leading day tour operator with an extensive range of tour options to suit any taste. We love to share the beauty of Tropical North Queensland and the ancient rainforest with our passengers.
  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Only one tour option is wheelchair accessible: Tjapukai w/ Lunch-Sky-Rail (code: KRST)
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • KQS and KSQ are both wheelchair accessible
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 80 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Down Under Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "You do not need to pay extra to hold the bear - only if you want a picture taken ( it is a very good picture)." See review
  • "Cable car and train as well as the visit to Karanda are not to be missed." See review
  • "You can go to Butterfly or Koala Park for extra fees." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
687 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 687 reviews
star-5
Breathtaking! The train...
Julie_G
, Aug 2022
Breathtaking! The train and the sky rail were both scenic and informative. Easy and we’ll organised by DUT. Great day.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Brilliant
Joan_W
, Aug 2022
Meeting very nice people, Train, Sky Rail, Butterfly centre, not many places to get sandwiches or decent cuppa
star-5
Train up and gondola down is the way to go
Kristopher_D
, Aug 2022
Highly recommend. The logistics of being picked up and dropped off, where and when were clear and taken care of. Came to our hotel and dropped us off there too. Recommend taking the train up to Kuranda for the scenery of valley’s and waterfalls and great start to the adventure. Added bonus: locals come out to wave you off. Then take the gondola down for breathe taking views of forest and coast line. Lots of information on local history too.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great family day out
Sarah_K
, Aug 2022
I was a little worried that a 10-hour day would be too much for my 2 and 3 year old toddlers but they absolutely loved it! We did the rainforestation tour and also managed to fit in the butterfly sanctuary. Kids loved the aboriginal dance show. Would highly recommend this tour.
star-4
Interesting experience - did not expect so much trinket shooping in Karanda. Very commercialised and in part and trashy.
keith_s
, Jul 2022
DisPpointed our travel plans were changed- cancelled train and trip reversal. Very confused and disorganised pick up - driver was remarkable and deser ed a medal for his patience.
star-4
Highly recommend...
Anneliese_D
, Jul 2022
Highly recommend venturing up to Kuranda for a day trip! The sky rail and historic train line were both fantastic ways to see the beautiful areas heading up to Kuranda. Highlight of the day was the aqua duck guide Chris at the Reforestation Park. He was very entertaining and so knowledgable!
star-5
The bus pick up including...
Mario_P
, Jul 2022
The bus pick up including the friendly driver then the train trip was awesome and the sky rail was amazing.
star-5
Great trip.
Elizarose_P
, Jul 2022
Great day even though it rained. Everything is very well planned and I love the fact they picked us up and dropped us back at the motel. The commentary was very interesting.
star-1
Don’t waste your money
Olivia_V
, Jul 2022
I really didn’t like this tour. First off I had a chase a pick up time and i was told 8.05, however at 7.50am I’m recovering a call Saying the bus is there and ready to go and I need to hurry as we have other people to pick up. Company writes your your itinerary and if you want to change your pick up time- forget it- very Unaccommodating-I think you can do this tour yourself
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
I am sorry you had a difficult experience with your pick up time, as it was school holiday period the tour was very full and sticking to a schedule was important. I hope you enjoyed all the other aspects of your day.
star-5
Beautiful scenery!
Leah_R
, Jul 2022
There is great commentary on the train along the way and beautiful sights to see too. It can be a little squished with four people to a row but the ride isn’t that long to be uncomfortable. We went with Down Under Tours for the Karunda Train and Skyrail combo. The company was very fast to answer my questions, convenient pick up and drop off location and the bus driver was very friendly. Going one way up and one way down on the train and Skyrail is the way to go. The Skyrail is beautiful with two stops along the way. Highly recommend this tour combo.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a wonderful 5 star review for Down Under Tours. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the journey both on the Scenic Train and on Skyrail and your time in Kuranda Village so much and that you have wonderful memories to take home with you.
star-5
Lift your game
Jan_H
, Jul 2022
The railway and sky rail were both wonderful. I was very unhappy that I was told to be waiting on the street @ 8am when the bus didn’t come until 9.15. In fact I had to ring the supplier to find that there was no requirement to be there until 8.50. As my husband has mobility issues he couldn’t wait so long and stayed at home. Bad marks for you I’m afraid. I will in future go directly to the supplier
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Viator, who you booked through, advised you that your pick up was 8am but also advised you to please call the operator and reconfirm your booking. Unfortunately the 8:50 train has been out of service for a few weeks and your booking was reverted to the 9:50 train, which was available at the time of your booking. Our bus did experience a delay due to traffic that morning so it was 9:15am instead of 8:50am when we arrived to pick you up. I am sorry your husband wasn't able to make the trip, we have advised you to go back to Viator for a partial refund. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the Scenic train and your Skyrail experience.
star-2
Disappointed
Rachel_G
, Jul 2022
I didn't know the departure time of train and back time of skyrail until we sat on the bus. That means I didn't know we only at kuranda for 2 hours. I also booked family tickets to kuranda national park. My kids so sad they can't go to the park. We didn't have enough time to there and you can't back my refund. It's rediculous. And the bus also go to a wrong hotel to pick up us. Never choose again
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Viator advises their clients to please reconfirm their booking with the supplier, however this booking wasn't reconfirmed. The earlier train, which you thought you had booked, has not been operating for a few weeks due to an operational problem and your family were allocated a booking on the next available train. Had you reconfirmed we would have advised you that there was a change to your booking and pick up time. I am sorry you did not feel like you had enough time in Kuranda Village, some people require more time than others. 2 hours is usually a good amount of time. Kuranda Village, the two Skyrail stops and part of the Kuranda Train journey are all located in Kuranda National Park. If you are referring to not being able to go to Rainforestation, this is a different tour and it was not included in the tickets that you purchased. I have checked your booking with our reservation team and the hotel listed on your booking is the hotel where we picked you up from. I am sorry you were disappointed with your day tour with us, but I hope you enjoyed the time on the Scenic train, Skyrail and in the Kuranda Village.
star-4
Awsome
Michael_G
, Jul 2022
All of the trip was memorable , but I think the train trip was a bit uncomfortable due to the seating as you sit 4 abreast and not much leg room
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
I am pleased that you had a memorable trip up and back from Kuranda and a lovely time in the village. Thank you for your review, this may help others when deciding whether to upgrade to Gold Class on the train, which gives them individual seating, more leg room, local produce and drinks, extra commentary and a hostess on the train.
star-3
Railway journey was great...
chris_d
, Jul 2022
Railway journey was great but ridiculously overpriced for the railway and the sky rail. For that price would have expected food included or at least some kind of refreshment.The town was also disappointing full of tourist tat shops
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
I am sorry that your day wasn't quite what you expected, but you still enjoyed the travel on the scenic train and on Skyrail.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Lovely Village and Wildlife
Colleen_B
, Jul 2022
Skyrail, train and village were lovely as were koalas, birds and butterflies for which I paid extra on the day. Rainforestation not worth time or effort.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
We are happy you had a good day up in Kuranda and were able to visit the Koala Wildlife Park, Birdworld and the Butterfly Sanctuary. When you book through Down Under Tours these activities are extra costs to your day, but there is a 10% discount voucher offered to you on your boarding pass. I am not sure if you tried to do Rainforestation on this trip to Kuranda as well, it would have been a very action packed day. I'm glad you enjoyed the journey on the scenic train and Skyrail and your time in the village.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
This day trip was not value for money at all.
Sally_M
, Jul 2022
Kuranda itself was beautiful, the sky rail was amazing but the whole trip was overpriced for what it’s worth. I suggest to anyone, organise your own transport to get to the railway and spend more time in the village.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you felt the day was overpriced with the transfers included. Hire cars, taxis or other means of getting to and from the train and Skyrail aren't always an easy option and not necessarily the cheaper or a more convenient option. I am pleased you enjoyed the journey on the skyrail and your time in the magical village of Kuranda.
star-4
Fantastic cable ride and performances, rest okay
Usha_P
, Jul 2022
There was miscommunication regarding pickup time. The booking said 7:45 at the hotel but it was actually an hour later. I had emailed the tour operator earlier for confirmation but didn’t hear back from them. The cable car ride was fantastic. Instructions on the itinerary were very clear. The included lunch was a disappointment. We were sent off to a bad part of the restaurant and not given many food options. Kuranda village was just a bunch of souvenir shops and cafes. The dance performance and demos were great! Duck boat tour was also fun. The shuttle bus driver was a bit rude to non-white families, so a little training there would be good. Train ride was okay, not as good as the cable ride which definitely was the highlight of the trip.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that parts of your day didn't live up to your expectations. I have forwarded your review on to our travel partner who provided the lunch and the shuttle bus, as well as your positive comments about the dance performances and the army duck boat tour. We are sorry for the miscommunication regarding your pick up time, but are pleased that the rest of your experience on the train and Skyrail cableway was amazing.
star-2
Total Customer Service fail-- tour cancelled and weren't notified.
Paul_H
, Jun 2022
This was a major bust for us. Our experience: - We had a 8:25 pickup from our hotel. I sent a message through Viator the night before just to double check that we are being picked up by got no response. - nobody showed up. I tried texting the contact number but that didn't work. I believe I sent another message using viator and still no response. I called and repeatedly and didn't get through. - Finally on my 4th call at 8:41 I got through and they said that the train had an accident the previous day so the tour is cancelled and there is nothing they could do. They would give me a refund. They did nothing to let me know that it had been cancelled. - 10 days later I checked and I hadn't gotten a refund. I requested a refund and I got an email that it has been granted. Today the refund showed up. I would never use this company again. They should have called, texted, or messaged me that the tour was cancelled. Then they should have refunded my money without me having to ask for it. Also, they could have tried to get us an alternate option of sky route to and from Kuranda because that was available. Absolute customer service fail. I highly recommend avoiding them. I understand the train crash was not there fault but I don't understand how you don't let people know the tour was cancelled. This was extremely frustrating because we could have planned something the night before if we had known. At the minimum we wouldn't have got up early and stood outside waiting for a car that was never going to come. I hate writing negative reviews (I think this is my first here) but this was unacceptable and I feel people should be warned. Side note: we ended up driving to Kuranda and had a great time. By driving we could spend as much time as we wanted which was nice. My kids absolutely loved the aviary.
star-1
WOULD NOT RECOMMEND!
Nathan_T
, Jun 2022
We didn't get to go as they have a 24 hour cancelation policy. We just wanted to change the day of our travel as we had car trouble getting up there. So they took our $400 and basically said tuff luck.. Luckily we called up down under tours and they understood our situation and rebooked us for another day that they still had spare seats free of charge. I will never be using viator again and telling all my friends and family to steer clear from this joke of a company.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for your review, Down Under Tours are glad we could help in this instance and that things worked out on the day.
star-1
Terrible experience
Agnes_S
, Jun 2022
Was told the pick up at 720 am at a different hotel. Waited till 9 am before they picked me. And instructions not clear. Missed my tour and lunch too!
1 traveler found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns
Likely to Sell Out
Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

star-4.5687

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$127.71

star-433

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$143.41

star-4.5146

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$127.71

star-510

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$79.01

star-4.579

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$125.40
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations