Recent Searches
Clear

Bio Bay Kayak Tour in Fajardo

star-4.5232 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Cabezas, Puerto Rico
Bio Bay Kayak Tour in Fajardo

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Paddle through the beautiful bioluminescent bay near Fajardo on this kayak tour. Traverse the extensive mangrove forests with your marine biologist tour guide and learn about the science behind this natural phenomenon that occurs in Laguna Grande. See the lights twinkle below the water as you paddle along and admire the beautiful coastal scenery at dusk before heading back to the starting point.
  • Kayak tour to Puerto Rico’s ‘bio bay’ at Laguna Grande
  • Learn about the natural phenomena from a marine biologist tour guide
  • Paddle through the mangrove forests and admire the coastal scenery
  • All necessary instruction and kayaking equipment are provided
Saved to wishlist!
Snacks
Professional guide
All necessary gear
Gratuities

Departure Point

Cabezas, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico

You must arrive 30 mins earlier than the tour time to find parking and to sign waiver. Location is normally very crowded. Upon arrival you must walk and look for the Pure Adventure signs and name, we will have a black and blue canopy with the company name & logo. Come prepared to get wet!!

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Minimum age 6 years
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • For safety reasons pregnant women cannot participate. (NO exclusions)
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • No Expecting Mothers
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Pure Adventure Corp.
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Bio Bay Kayak Tour in Fajardo?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Bio Bay Kayak Tour in Fajardo.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Bio Bay Kayak Tour in Fajardo?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Bio Bay Kayak Tour in Fajardo.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Bio Bay Kayak Tour in Fajardo?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Bio Bay Kayak Tour in Fajardo.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Bio Bay Kayak Tour in Fajardo?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Bio Bay Kayak Tour in Fajardo.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "I do not recommend going with a kayak partner that cannot help row as on the way back you have to fight the current and its pitch black." See review
  • "Definitely bring water shoes and be prepared for a workout!!" See review
  • "Also if you’re afraid of the dark, take an earlier tour to at least have daylight on your way in under the trees, and then darkness on the way back." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
232 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 232 reviews
star-5
Bio Bay ! Pure Adventure was amazing !
Irma_S
, Dec 2021
This was a beautiful experience. Stars above us and glowing algae below .. magical. However , be prepared this is a work out and not for those who have never kayaked. Guides were phenomenal. Sandra was super informative, funny and great. unfortunately I don’t recall the names of her team, but everyone was perfect. It was too dark to film and so I feel like it was all a dream. Amazing experience!
star-5
Great experience
Anoitnette_D
, Dec 2021
We were nervous at first to be kayaking late at night but WOW!!!!! It was such an adventure from start to finish ! We saw the sparkles 2/3 of our trip and once we got to the lagoon we had a perfect night to look at the stars. The tour guides were amazing and knowledgeable! We really enjoyed this experience and glad we made the 2 hour drive from our resort !
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Hola! Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience. We are super happy that you enjoyed this adventure so much. You're right about the starts, these nights have been pretty amazing! Thank you for coming! Cordially, Yolanda Ramos PURE ADVENTURE
star-2
Please Don’t Go If You’ve Never Kayaked Before
Shannon_S
, Nov 2021
These tours should be reserved for experienced kayakers. There were multitudes of people on this tour who had never kayaked before. Kayaking for the first time ever in pitch black conditions is not only a bad idea, but extremely unsafe. My husband and I, along with our friends, have kayaked multiple times before and were very disappointed that this tour allowed people who had never kayaked before to join. Lots of traffic in the canal in the dark while trying to dodge people who clearly did not know how to kayak were causing issues in the waterway making it a bad experience for everyone. Also, SUPER DANGEROUS despite it being less than 3 feet of water. The guides who are supposed to lead the way and alert kayakers of turns, tree branches, and underwater hazards were instead forced to help straggling first-timers keep up with the group. Companies are only out here for the money, so I guess at the end of the day, you get what you pay for.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Dear Shannon_S, Thank you sharing your feedback. I'm truly sorry the experience was not what you expected. Unfortunately, even though we strongly recommend inexperience kayakers to chose the early tour, many decide to take the later one. Our guides work really hard to assist the group through the entire experience, but keep in mind that we cannot control the organization of the other group companies. Not every night gets that busy but from time to time or during holidays it is expected to be crowded, a detail that we also cover in our webpage for the benefit of our guests. Another strong detail we mention in our webpage is the darkness, especially in the later tour. Still, many guests decide to take it thinking that it may not be that dark, but it is absolutely pitch dark. Regardless, I will share your feedback with our operations manager hoping we can avoid this from happening in the future. Cordially, Yolanda Ramos PURE ADVENTURE
star-1
Chaotic
Crystal_K
, Nov 2021
I was very much looking forward to showing my husband the bioluminescent bay which I was in awe at when I went as a kid. Unfortunately, we did not have a positive experience. This tour was so chaotic from the start. There was a brief kayaking tutorial and we were in a mad rush off. There was so much traffic due to the number of kayaks that were going through the very narrow canal and the darkness did not allow for you to clearly see where you were going. I completely understand that the later start time (8pm) means that it’ll be dark, but there should be a call out that says this time slot should be reserved for very experienced kayakers especially given that it’s already challenging due to the narrow passageways. We truly could not enjoy the bioluminescence of the bay due to the stressful nature of navigating the kayak and evading the other kayaking companies coming the other way. I truly hope the tour company takes this into consideration by downsizing groups and limiting the later slot time to experienced kayakers to avoid the chaos and make for a more enjoyable experience.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Hello Crystal_K, Thank you for your feedback, it is very important for us. We are very sorry about how you felt about this adventure. We truly love sharing this experience with our guests and it is in our best interest that you have a great time in it. Thank you for our recommendations and we'd like to tell you that we had already taken that step forward to orientate our guests about this adventure in advance. In our webpage you can find 4 important recommendations/advice written down for your benefit. These include recommendations about the darkness and level of experience, crowded canals, glow fluctuations, and health/weight restrictions. We truly hope that you can give us the opportunity in the future to show you an excellent experience. To our future guests, we always always recommend to read all the information we provide about this adventure. It will help you decide which tour time to chose and it will help you to get ready for the adventure. And if you have any questions or doubts, we will be more than happy to assist you. Take in consideration the near the Holidays everything will be crowded, just like Disney Land in high season. Pure Adventure's team is here to assist you anytime, feel free to contact us anytime. Respectfully, Yolanda Ramos PURE ADVENTURE
star-5
Great experience
Erica_S
, Nov 2021
The kayaking in the bay was great, both for grown up and kids. I truly recommend to take the one leaving at 6 o’clock, so you get a chance to see the mangrove with some lights on the way to the bay. The guides were helpful and funny.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Hola Erica_S, Thank you so much for your comment! Yolanda Ramos PURE ADVENTURE
star-5
It was a very nice...
Pratibha_D
, Nov 2021
It was a very nice experience we loved it . All the guides are really good . Our kids loved it too. We all enjoyed
star-5
Perfect night!
Sharon_H
, Nov 2021
The tour guides were great. They kept up with everyone in our group. Their instructions and knowledge were spot on. They used a laser light in the sky to show constellations. It was the perfect night to go. The stars were beautiful and the bioluminescence showed up nicely. I didn’t know if kayaking for 2 hours would be difficult and it definitely was not. I would highly recommend this tour.
star-3
Bioluminescence tour
lddaly12
, Nov 2021
It was an enjoyable 2 hour kayak ride. The bioluminescence was very disappointing. The marine biologist tour guide explained if was because it hadn't rained much in the last month and there was a half moon. I was well aware that it would be hit-and-miss with seeing the glowing algae. But kayaking and looking at the stars was very enjoyable.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Hi Iddaly12, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry about the bioluminescence, as you know it is something that we cannot predict in any way. There are several factors that influence in its brightness, all of the from natural sources. Still, it's an adventurous trip at night, plus the stars these days have been breathtaking ;) Thank you for coming! Cordially, Yolanda Ramos PURE ADVENTURE
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Enjoyed!
Rachel_F
, Nov 2021
The kayak trip itself is relaxing! It is really cool to be kayaking at night through the lagoon. As a first time kayaker, I was pleasantly surprised at how their instructions and assistance made it fairly easy to manage. They worked hard to help us see the bioluminesence, despite the brightness of the moon that night.
star-5
Amazing Tour!!!
Dana_S
, Nov 2021
This tour was FANTASTIC!!! The check in was easy, just give yourself time to find parking. The explanation of what to do and what to expect were great! I’ll be honest that I was a little nervous paddling out in the ocean at night, but the tour guides were excellent and kept everyone safe and excited. This is definitely a fun experience and I’m glad we did it! The kayaking was an adventure and the magical waters and sky were something I’ll never forget. Way to go Pure Adventures!!!

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Bio Bay Kayak Tour in Fajardo
Bio Bay Kayak Tour in Fajardo

star-4.5232

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$64.67

star-4.5315

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$61.32

star-5147

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$100.35

star-418

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$50.00

star-471

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$55.00

star-4.581

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$94.78

star-4.544

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.00

star-5147

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$189.55

star-4185

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$55.00

Explore Similar Things to Do