Recent Searches
Clear

Maui Snorkeling Molokini Crater and Turtle Town aboard Pride of Maui

star-4.5360 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Wailuku, United States
Maui Snorkeling Molokini Crater and Turtle Town aboard Pride of Maui
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon5 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Overview

A trip to Molokini Crater grants visitors the chance to take in scenic ocean views from a catamaran and discover the world below the surface while snorkeling at the underwater lava formations of Turtle Town. The calm water and bountiful marine life make this an ideal snorkeling spot for everyone from first-timers to long-time snorkeling enthusiasts. Plus, a guide provides security and instruction for beginners.
  • Enjoy a catamaran trip to the Molokini Crater and snorkel in Turtle Town
  • The all-inclusive trip provides meals, snacks, and drinks (alcohol included) on board
  • Learn about the surroundings from your guide
  • The area is known for its great visibility and plentiful marine life—especially sea turtles
Saved to wishlist!
Use of Snorkeling equipment
Breakfast
Lunch
Soda/Pop
Alcoholic Beverages
233 Maalaea Rd , 233 Maalaea Rd, Wailuku, HI 96793, USA

Check-in 7.30am. Google Maps 233 Maalaea Road, places you in front of US Coast Guard building. The pier is to your left. Walk onto the pier, turn left and go to the very end. Look for the large white boat with black and gold trim that says Pride of Maui on its side.

8:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Check in at 7.30am, 30 Minutes Prior to start time
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 74 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Pride of Maui
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Maui Snorkeling Molokini Crater and Turtle Town aboard Pride of Maui?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Maui Snorkeling Molokini Crater and Turtle Town aboard Pride of Maui.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Maui Snorkeling Molokini Crater and Turtle Town aboard Pride of Maui?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Maui Snorkeling Molokini Crater and Turtle Town aboard Pride of Maui.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Maui Snorkeling Molokini Crater and Turtle Town aboard Pride of Maui?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Maui Snorkeling Molokini Crater and Turtle Town aboard Pride of Maui.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Maui Snorkeling Molokini Crater and Turtle Town aboard Pride of Maui?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Maui Snorkeling Molokini Crater and Turtle Town aboard Pride of Maui.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "BOOK THIS TOUR DIRECTLY WITH THE OPERATOR TO SAVE MONEY." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
360 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 360 reviews
star-5
Definitely recommend!
Carrie_S
, Aug 2022
The crew was great! The crater was ok, but the 2nd stop had amazing corral. Definitely recommend though. Well organized and friendly!
star-5
The snorkeling was great the crew was even better
Stephen_G
, Aug 2022
Awesome experience with a family. Everything was great the entire crew didn’t amazing job they were so professional nice and welcoming would recommend this 100%
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thank you for your enthusiastic recommendation. It doesn't get any better than 100% We love to see this, and we love our customers. Thank You so much for joining us and sharing your experience with others.
star-5
Friendly Staff
Anne_S
, Aug 2022
Saw lots of different fish, especially at Turtle Town. There I saw 3 turtles. The staff is extremely friendly and professional. My family and I had a blast.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Aloha and Mahalo for joining us. I’m so happy you had such a great day on the ocean with us. The clear water, colorful reef and marine animals are a big part of what makes snorkeling on Maui so special. Three turtles is definitely a nice gift. I’m glad your entire family appreciated my extremely friendly and professional team. They truly are the best of the best and I’m one lucky boss to have such a great team!
star-4
Great time. Can't wait to do it again.
Kenneth_R
, Jul 2022
Loved the diversity of fish and the clear water. The service was great and the crew was super friendly.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
It’s nice to hear that you had a great time. Molokini Crater offers some of the best snorkeling anywhere. The clarity of the water is particularly impressive. Thank you for sharing.
star-4
Great experience
Nick_P
, Jul 2022
Friendly staff, great snorkeling. Very convenient and family friendly. It was perfect for our family. Mahalo
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
I am so glad your great experience was perfect! Thank You for joining us and taking time to share.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Worth it!
Jennifer_N
, Jul 2022
Great trip! The service from the crew was awesome! The grilled lunch tasty and hot! Had choices too! The snorkeling was amazing in Molokini! Turtle town was bit disappointing.. murky water and someone saw a turtle. Not us:( overall fun trip! Recommend renting The $10 wet suit jacket to keep warm
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks for joining us and taking the time to share your experience. Molokini is a unique and wonderful snorkel destination. I’m glad you and your family had such a great time. Nothing better than burgers, chicken, and hot dogs served hot off the grill. I’m really glad you felt the uncrowded boat and experience was worth it! We operate at just 60% of our Coast Guard capacity, providing lots of open space to comfortably move around.
star-4
Great for families
Andrea_D
, Jul 2022
My husband and booked the trip 5 years ago and had an absolute blast. So much so, that we decided to being our kids back to experience it. There were a few differences that I was somewhat dissapointed about: no "pre-board" picture or Snuba diving option despite mentioning it in the confirmation. Outside of that, the kids had a great time and I'd recommend for families.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Aloha and thanks for joining us again this year. You are right, we have made a few changes since COVID. We stopped taking the pre boarding dockside photos while the state required face masks to be worn and social distancing. The process of checking guests in improved so much, that we decided not to bring it back. As for SNUBA, we do still offer this activity aboard the boat on the same basis as before, which means you must still reserve it, when making your reservation. Another very important change we have made is that we now operate at just 60% of our Coast Guard capacity, which allows us to elevate the level of personalized service we provide, and run the tour at a very relaxed pace, with plenty of personal space to comfortably enjoy the boat.
star-3
Over priced excursion
Paulette_C
, Jul 2022
For the price, the sunscreen and wet suits should be included. Instead they charge you for both. The post snorkeling drinks are low grade. We also saw zero turtles.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Our goal is to protect the reef, while making sure you are comfortable, which is why have “reef safe” sunscreen available on the boat. We also offer wetsuits to protect you from the sun and keep you warm. The nominal cost of $5 for sunscreen and $10 for a wetsuit allows us to continue to provide them. We serve Coke, Diet Coke, sprite, orange juice, pineapple, guava and passion fruit juice, coffee, and osmosis filtered water throughout the day. The post snorkeling adult beverages include 3 micro brewed beers from Maui Brewing Company ( lager, IPA, and an ale), served ice cold on tap. We also serve Chardonnay and red zin wines from NAPA. You can also order up a freshly made mai-tai, from the bar. All of the 13 different beverages we serve are provided at no additional cost. There are numerous turtles at Turtle Town, which is why it’s called Turtle Town. Fortunately we do see them at this location with great regularity., although they are wild animals in a big ocean and while plenty of our guests have gotten to swim with them, there are the occasional days when you may not. Most of our guests, like the one below your review who was on the same excursion, understand that we do not have control of the sea turtles, and still have a great time. Our site selections each day are chosen by where the wind and ocean conditions offer the safest conditions and best overall snorkeling experience.
star-5
Great time!!
Logan_J
, Jul 2022
My husband & I had an amazing time. We truly enjoyed the snorkeling trip. The crew on Maui Pride was phenomenal. They went out of their way to ensure everyone had a great time while be safe! Definitely recommend them. The Molokini crater was gorgeous. We didn’t see any turtles in turtle town but still cool!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Aloha and thank you for joining us and sharing your great experience. The snorkeling at Molokini is fantastic and though you didn’t see turtles at TT, I’m glad you took in all the other wonderful colorful corals and marine life. The crew aboard Pride of Maui are second to none and I thank you for saying so. Your safety, comfort and enjoyment are very important and I’m so proud of my guys!
star-3
No underwater life
DARRICK_E
, Jul 2022
1st Snorkeling was awful. 2nd stop for snorkeling was non existent. Crew, drinks & food was amazing!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
We appreciate the opportunity to read these reviews to better understand our guests. I believe the number of great reviews we receive from nearly all of our guests speak volumes. Reviews with titles such as “Best Snorkeling Ever”, and a long list of others, tell the true story of how beautiful the reefs are and how much there is to see. What you say above about the crew and food is true and appreciated.
star-3
The first stop was...
Tiffany_G
, Jul 2022
The first stop was actually wonderful. I would suggest that the company finds a new location for their second stop. Every person I heard complained that the tide was too strong there was no visibility and it was a waste of their time & $
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
While I’m not sure where we went for the second stop on this particular day, I will say that the snorkeling locations we visit are coral reefs which offer the safest overall conditions for the day. These are the same locations the other operators go to as well, with names like Turtle Town and Coral Gardens. These locations were aptly named because of an abundance of colorful coral, turtles and other interesting marine animals. I’m glad you loved the snorkeling at Molokini Crater. I’m sorry that the conditions were less than ideal at the second stop. As evidenced by the plethora of 5 star reviews we have received and having been in the business over 40 years, our mission is to take you to the best locations offering the best snorkeling of the day. Sounds like Mother Nature was less than cooperative on this particular day.
star-5
Maui snorkeling with Pride of Maui first rate experience!
Joanne_C
, Jul 2022
Awesome experience. Fun trip. Sorry we missed Turtle Town due to high waves. Crew was great and very helpful and friendly.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Pride of Maui (our flagship), is the largest Maxi Power Catamaran on Maui, which operates at just 60% of our Coast Guard capacity. Her Captains, First Officers and crew are some of the most experienced in our field. What truly makes the most difference is the passion they have and the lengths my team go to, in order to provide the first rate experience you describe in your 5 star review. I have been in the business for 40 years here in the islands, though it is my hard working team of highly skilled, helpful, friendly passionate watermen and women, who create exceptional memories not soon forgotten. It is they whom I owe the credit for the success of our flagship, “Pride of Maui”. Thank you for appreciating all they do.
star-5
Best excursion in Maui
Ben_L
, Jul 2022
The staff was amazing. They worked sp hard to make sure we were fed and happy. They even had a prescription snorkel mask for my husband who wears glasses so he could snorkel comfortably.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Nice to be appreciated as the best excursion provider on Maui. Thank You for sharing!
star-5
Book this trip now!
Piers_C
, Jul 2022
The staff on this trip were incredible. The water was really choppy on the way to and from the crater so a few of our party felt pretty sea sick. The staff were so caring and really went out of their way to keep checking on everyone and bringing whatever they could to try to help (the ginger drink was great in settling unsettled tummies!). They were also really fantastic with helping anyone who was nervous about going into the water for the first time. Overall it was an amazing experience. The snorkelling was brilliant (beautiful clear blue water, loads of colourful and interesting fish etc) but it was the staff who really made the overall experience a great one. Thank you!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
We had some pretty high winds last week and the boat ride out to the crater was unusually bumpy. Though these conditions are not the norm, I’m proud of my team whose decades of experience shines, as they go above and beyond for the safety and comfort of our guests. Molokini Crater is fabulous with crystal clear water and a wide variety of colorful corals and marine animals. The crater is truly a snorkeling paradise. You are right, at the end of the day it is the Captain and crew who really make the experience so special, in the way they care for our guests and provide memories to cherish.
star-5
Amazing experience!!
Frank_P
, Jul 2022
What a great day!! The crew of the Pride of Maui was phenomenal! Everything was fabulous…the boat ride, snorkeling in the beautiful waters at Molokini Crater, and snorkeling at a Turtle Bay (not sure if that’s the correct name)! My husband even saw a reef shark, which may be the highlight of our entire trip for him! Lol! Highly recommend this adventure! ☺️
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Amazing and lasting memories are a big part of what we offer. I’m glad you guys had a great time and thanks for recognizing my crew. They truly are phenomenal because they love what they do and appreciate our guests.:
star-5
Snorkeling at Molekini was sick!!
Teresa_B
, Jul 2022
Loved snorkeling at Molokini crater!! We saw all kinds of beautiful fish! The Captain and crew were all super friendly!!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank You for sharing your love of the crater, fish and of course our super friendly Captain and crew.
star-5
Amazing crew on the hot!
Debbie_S
, Jul 2022
The staff is as amazing! They were all kind and very helpful. They checked in with us multiple times during the trip to make sure we were having a good time.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Not to sound repetitious, “They are the best team on Maui”, hands down! I know this because of guests like you who take the time to recognize the unmatched level of service they provide. Thank You.
star-5
I will do it again
William_G
, Jul 2022
Nice crew and knowledgeable. No one can harness the weather, plan to visit when trade winds are minimal, morning tour. Saw a turtle while snorkling, Tip : 20-30 feet from shore facing ocean is best place to keep a look out.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Aloha, Thank You for understanding that we are unable to control the weather, when the trade winds are as strong as they gave been in recent days. Thankfully, they are backing off and we are expecting normal trade winds to prevail, moving forward. I am pleased that you saw a turtle and will join us again. Mahalo!
star-2
Did not go to Molokini Crater and Turtle Town and no option of refund
Jeremiah_Y
, Jul 2022
The crew is friendly and that is why I gave them 2 stars instead of 1. We did not go to the Molokini Crater or Turtle town. We did not find this out until we were on the boat and there is no option to get a refund at this point. I took my family of 5 and the cost was over 1,100 dollars. We booked this 6 months in advance and the charter advertises the Molokini Crater and Turtle town. I can appreciate that sometimes weather doesn't permit but when the customer is purchasing a certain product there is an expectation that exists. The boat took us to one place to snorkel and it was a spot that my family and I could have accessed from the shoreline by driving. Again, my issue is not that the captain made the decision because of the weather my issue is that the plans change and there is no possible way to get a refund. 1,100 dollars is a lot to spend on a snorkeling experience that I could have had by just driving to a beach. My assumption is that I would have had the same issue with any other charter company.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Aloha, Your safety is our number one priority, and on the days when it is unsafe to take you to Molokini Crater and, or Turtle Town, we do make an announcement at the harbor before getting underway to provide our guests with the opportunity to reschedule to another day or cancel with a refund. If you booked directly with us, we process a refund that same day. If you book through Viator, they too have a very understanding refund policy. There are a number of other activity companies who sell our tours, with varying refund policies. We usually know the prevailing weather conditions and day's plan before leaving the harbor to our snorkel locations, except for days when the conditions change rapidly, which fortunately is seldom. On this day like most others, we did know that Coral Gardens was the only cove offering shelter from the strong trade winds, and that is why we announced it before getting underway. Some of our guests as you may have noticed, opted out and either rescheduled for another day, or were refunded. Though Coral Gardens is close to shore, there are steep tall cliffs from the shoreline to the road above, and only the most skilled climbers would brave the trek down the cliffs and climb over the rocky shore below, to snorkel here. To say that you could have accessed this beautiful snorkel location without a boat is a stretch, at best. We understand you had your heart set on snorkeling at Molokini Crater and Turtle Town, which is why we let folks know before leaving the harbor that you can cancel with a refund, or reschedule to another day, when the conditions are unsafe elsewhere. If you choose to stay aboard and go where it is safe to snorkel, with professionals who know where to go, at a location with lots of colorful coral and fish to view, in a safe and sheltered cove, enjoy breakfast and a freshly prepared BBQ lunch, with open bar after snorkeling, along with all the amenities onboard, like warm showers, rest rooms, water slide for the kids, easy and safe entry and exit points, on-duty lifeguards and an expert crew looking out for you, while providing an exceptional level of customer service, it is a bit unfair to request a full refund. You are correct, the other operators would feel the same way.
star-5
Beautiful day full of adventure!
Antoinette_K
, Jun 2022
The help from the staff was wonderful! They all went out of their way to help you! Taco was very friendly and made us feel welcomed!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Wonderful memories are what we strive for. Thanks for appreciating our hospitality. I am so proud of all my guys, and Takako (our GM), is an especially gracious host. Thanks for appreciating all we do!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Maui Snorkeling Molokini Crater and Turtle Town aboard Pride of Maui
Likely to Sell Out
Maui Snorkeling Molokini Crater and Turtle Town aboard Pride of Maui

star-4.5360

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$196.12

star-4.5962

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$149.95

star-4.5245

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$185.40

star-540

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$235.04

star-51112

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$208.22

star-4.576

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$159.00

star-4.5707

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$149.95
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations