Recent Searches
Clear

Road to Hana Mercedes van with Waterfall Swim, Black Sand Beach and Lunch

star-4.591 Reviews
|
Kahului, United States
Road to Hana Mercedes van with Waterfall Swim, Black Sand Beach and Lunch

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon9 to 10 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Discover the best of Maui on a Road to Hana road trip alongside a small group. Climb aboard your Mercedes van and stop at several points of interest including black sand beaches, refreshing waterfalls, and old lava flows. Your tour is also inclusive of a delicious homemade breakfast as well as a catered lunch in the beautiful Wainapanapa State Park.
  • Travel along one of the most famous roads in the US
  • A small group means more attention from your guide
  • Hassle-free transfers from several Maui locations
  • Let someone else navigate the winding road
Saved to wishlist!
Snacks
Bottled water
Soda/Pop
Air-conditioned vehicle
Live commentary on board
Hotel pick-up/drop-off at majority of resorts or pick-up at the Kahului or Kihei Park’n ride
Lunch
Driver's Gratuity (15-20% of Ticket price recommended)
Pickups not available in Napili, Kapalua, Honokowai and Kahana
No special diet available (raw, vegan, food allergies). You must bring your own food.
No pickups in Kihei, Wailea. You must meet us at the Maalaea Park and ride

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

Suppliers and travelers coordinate start times within the given time periods.
6/13/2019 - 7/12/2023
Monday - Saturday:05:45 AM - 06:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Bring swimsuit & towel for swimming at Hana natural waterfall pools or Black Sand Beach (optional & weather permitting)
  • We DON'T offer any food alternatives. If you are on a special diet (raw, vegan, or have food allergies), you must bring your own food.
  • Preorder your sandwich - ham or turkey or veggie
  • The back side of this road is temporarily closed due to road damage. We return the same way back.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Stardust Hawaii, LLC
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Road to Hana Mercedes van with Waterfall Swim, Black Sand Beach and Lunch ?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Road to Hana Mercedes van with Waterfall Swim, Black Sand Beach and Lunch .
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Road to Hana Mercedes van with Waterfall Swim, Black Sand Beach and Lunch ?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Road to Hana Mercedes van with Waterfall Swim, Black Sand Beach and Lunch .
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Road to Hana Mercedes van with Waterfall Swim, Black Sand Beach and Lunch ?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Road to Hana Mercedes van with Waterfall Swim, Black Sand Beach and Lunch .
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Road to Hana Mercedes van with Waterfall Swim, Black Sand Beach and Lunch ?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Road to Hana Mercedes van with Waterfall Swim, Black Sand Beach and Lunch .

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
91 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 91 reviews
star-5
Great experience!
Daniel_B
, Jun 2022
Great experience! I'm so happy we decided to go with a guided tour and driver. The roads get pretty rough at times.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Aloha Daniel and mahalo for your feedback. A hui hou
star-3
Not a Luxury tour
Deanise_P
, Jun 2022
Tour is advertised as a "luxury Mercedes" tour. What this actually means is a Mercedes van that seats 15 people. Front seat is driver and one other person. Behind driver is 3 rows of three seats and then a back seat with 4 seats. The back row is only a few inches wider than the other three rows so the four in the back are literally packed in! Combine that with the company allowing an infant on a 10 hour tour. So... you are packed in a van with 15 people on a bench seat that is really too small for 4 people and a baby is crying a good portion of the day. Van should not have more than 10 people tops for comfort and no children under five. Stops were beautiful and our guide was wonderful. But way too much money to be crammed in an overcrowded van with a crying child for 10 hours. The word "luxury" is completely inaccurate.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Aloha and mahalo for your input. We are sorry to hear that you didn't feel it was a luxury van. Comparing to other vans other companies use, like Ford or Chevy, our vans are luxury. Longer version with a high roof allows to travelers stand up and stretch out with extra legroom. Road to Hana is a long day but you are not always sitting in the van. There are swimming stops, where you walk around and explore. A crying baby? Well, that happens. Just like on an airplane. We definitely have no interest in limiting our guests from bringing their children. That's not what we do. It is an adventure meant for all age groups, singles, couples, families and seniors.
star-2
Disappointing day
Kristen_C
, May 2022
We were very disappointed with this tour. It is not a luxury Mercedes. There were 14 of us packed in on bench seats that looked just like the other Ford vans touring. Amenities were not as described such as soda. The lunch was bare minimum. There was very little commentary and only a few stops. I saw more when I drove it myself. We were back within 8 hours total. We were not shown around at the park like we observed other guides doing. Our tour guide was nice but new so not sure if that contributed. It was definitely the company misleading to make it out to be one of the more luxury experiences. We saw others that had what we expected. Would not recommend.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Aloha and mahalo for your feedback. I am sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations. We don't advertise soda, we serve much better drinks - Hawaiian juice from tropical fruits like passion fruit, lilikoi, pineapple, etc. Mercedes Sprinters are definitely different from a Ford, they are roomier, taller, longer. I suggest you spend a whole day in a Ford and then let us know how was it? (You cannot even stand up in it). You made the lunch choice ahead of time, so not sure where the problem was. Thanks for joining us and have a great day!
star-5
Incredible Experience with Breathtaking Scenery
Leatha_F
, Apr 2022
This was an incredible tour: beautiful waterfalls, lush vegetation with colorful flowers to name just a couple of highlights! Our guide/driver, Eric, was very knowledgeable about the history of Hawaii and made the tour very interesting. We were so glad we didn’t try to drive this ourselves. It was very relaxing to ride in the comfortable van and let Eric do the driving. We made many stops at beautiful places that we would not have found on our own.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Aloha Leatha, mahalo nui for your feedback. It was a pleasure to have you. Save travels and A hui hou....
star-5
Beautiful trip!
Christine_T
, Apr 2022
We were so glad we did this tour for the road to Hana! It was a long day and we’re glad we didn’t try to do it ourselves. Our guide Eric was amazing! He was fun, knowledgeable, took pictures and videos for us and was an expert in maneuvering the roads! Definitely recommend this tour!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Aloha Christine, how wonderful to hear that you had a great time. We are happy you could join us on this awesome Hana adventure. Hope you can visit again.
star-5
Breathtaking scenery!
STACEY_W
, Apr 2022
Great tour! Quinn provided great information about the island and history and was an excellent driver on the crazy narrow roads! Scenery was breathtaking and it was a definite must do in Maui.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Aloha Stacey, we are happy to hear that you had a great time. Mahalo for your sharing with other travelers :-)
star-5
Great Day!
Angela_W
, Mar 2022
Eric was amazing!! I can’t imagine a better guide! There were so many beautiful views. Great experience! This is a must do!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Aloha Angela, we are happy you had a great time. It was an amazing day, wasn't it :-)
star-2
No worth your $!!
Caroline_C
, Mar 2022
The good: host/driver was knowledgeable and friendly. He picked me up on time. Some of the stops were awe- inspiring.; black beach in particular. Other travelers were spirited and fun. The bad: breakfast was Costco-like bread (poppy or chocolate bread). Positively Flavorless. Lunch was worse: boxed ham sandwich. Ewwwww. I bought a salad at a stop along the way and was glad I did. Who ears ham? Other tours had selections. This was a $250 investment and food provided was cheap. Not even a coke or sprite was offered. The saving grace was the hand cut Maui pineapple which was delish. Also bad: the “luxury” van was packed. Not an empty seat. I was squished into a back seat with strangers. I kept falling on my neighbors. Also roads were so bumpy and uncomfortable made worse by being packed in like sardines. Lastly , although I appreciated the genuine enthusiasm of our guide, he talked incessantly for over 8 hours. Non-stop. I would have appreciated a better balance: some narration and then some quiet time to enjoy the beauty. The ugly: at the end of our journey together, our guide accused “western cities” of sending their homeless on a one way ticket to Maui. This is nonsense. I lived in SF for years and volunteered with local govt to assist the homeless in getting access to services and rebuilding their lives. His remarks were shameful insults and blatantly false. He should be reminded how many visitors, owners and residents hail from the West coast. For $250, I was disappointed. There are better ways to spend your $$ in Maui.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Aloha Caroline, we are sorry the tour didn't meet your expectations. We offer choices for lunch - ham, turkey or veggie sandwich. If you don't like ham (like many guests do), why didn't you preorder something else? We purposely don't serve soda drinks as you can have them everywhere else. We serve Hawaiian juice made out of exotic fruits like lilikoi, guava, pineapple, oranges... Bumpy roads are very common on Road to Hana, and every description online warns you about it. It seems like you didn't even read what you signed up for because all the things you complain about are described publicly. You received exactly what you paid for. Next time please read before signing up. Aloha!
star-5
A great day in Maui
Tami_H
, Mar 2022
Our day was filled with Maui beauty but also history, culture & funny “dad” jokes!! Our family had a great day. Thank you Quinn for showing us Maui!!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Aloha Tami, so glad you and your ohana had a great time! Mahalo for riding with us :-)
star-4
Pricy
Dee_R
, Mar 2022
Would of liked to stop and see more falls, instead of stopping at places to shop. It was to long to go the whole road on Hana. I seen another tour where you get a BBQ lunch and it was cheaper.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Aloha Dee, thanks for your input. We only stop at one place for shopping and that is the famous banana bread stand, so I am not sure what other places you are referring to. There are over 15 waterfalls located along the Road to Hana. Some of these waterfalls are visible from the road or you even drive over them on a bridge. As you mentioned it is a long drive and it is not possible to stop at all of them. We chose the best stops and easy accessible stops for your safety and pleasure. You can always book a private tour to explore the area further. Mahalo
star-3
Disappointing
Libby_R
, Mar 2022
Swimming in the waterfall. A bit slippery crossing rocks to get there but well worth it for the experience. Spectacular views of ocean. Expected more local shopping experiences. Quin was very informative and gave us ideas for shopping after the tour. Would have liked to have more time to take pictures instead of going by things so fast on the road.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Aloha Libby, you definitely signed up for the wrong tour if you were looking for shopping experience. Road to Hana is all about nature, tranquility, breathtaking scenery and swimming. Slippery rocks? Well that's nature, that is why we recommend bringing water shoes. Road to Hana is an all day adventure, and we spend time at each site as long as time allows so we can return back on time before the evening settles in. Aloha
star-5
So worth it.
Fiona_C
, Mar 2022
Enjoyed every minute of the tour. View is breathtaking, so were the sharp turns and narrow bridges. Glad to leave the driving to our wonderful guide Quinn. Quinn was knowledgeable, enthusiastic and attentive. Would totally recommend this tour especially Quinn to friends and families.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Aloha Fiona, mahalo for riding with us and sharing your awesome experience with other travelers. We hope you can visit again :-)
star-5
Fantastic trip
anthony_d
, Feb 2022
Eric was fantastic. Excellent trip. Worth every penny. From the waterfalls to the breathtaking views of the black sand beaches. Was absolutely undescribable
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Aloha Anthony, mahalo for your feedback. We are happy you had a great time. Please visit again.
star-5
A fun day and terrific guide
steven_k
, Feb 2022
Wonderful experience. Driver/guide Eric was knowledgeable, entertaining, a great driver and always aware of our comfort. Got to see a different side of Maui and learned some history, too. A fun day!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Aloha Steven and mahalo for your feedback. Have a great rest of your stay and a hui hou
star-5
Great Introduction to Mauu
Kayleen_A
, Jan 2022
Loved the black sand beach!! Waterfall was beautiful, just too cold! Banana bread was the best we’ve ever eaten, and we just never got enough of the beautiful views. Our tour guide, Eric, was so knowledgeable and shared so much history with us. It was a comfortable ride, totally trusted our driver, (he was good), and it was a fantastic day!! I would add, there was time to change into a swimsuit it you don’t want to wear it all day.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Aloha Kaylee, great to hear from you :-) We are happy you had a fantastic time with us. Mahalo for your feedback and hope you can visit again.
star-5
The morning began with a...
Linda_M
, Jan 2022
The morning began with a prompt pickup at our resort. Greeted friendly and thoroughly entertained by our tour guide, whose name was Quinn. We received an island history lesson , beautiful experience, and nice lunch provided by our tour guide. This tour is definitely worth the money. I highly recommend you spend the day seeing the island and let someone else do the driving. Bring a little extra cash with you to purchase the best banana bread along the way. Also you'll definitely want to tip your tour guide for such an amazing day!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Aloha Linda, so glad you enjoyed our tour. Mahalo for your feedback and for riding with us. A hui hou
star-5
Simply amazing!!
Ramona_H
, Jan 2022
This tour was everything and more. Quinn is the absolute best, made everyone feel comfortable and we knew we were safe in his care!! I highly recommend this tour!!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Aloha Ramon, so wonderful to hear your positive experience. Mahalo for your feedback and for riding with us. A hui hou
star-5
Great trip
Anita_L
, Jan 2022
I enjoyed getting to see so much of Maui. Quinn was an amazing guide and driver on this trip. He knew lots of interesting information about the island.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Aloha Anita, we are happy you had a great time. Have a safe travels and stay healthy!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Great experience!
Amy_R
, Jan 2022
Very enjoyable day trip for seeing the highlights of the picturesque Road to Hana. Quinn, our driver and guide, was very knowledgeable about Maui's history and a safe driver. The only improvement would be to offer a few more momentary stops to take photos. Packaged lunch was adequate.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Aloha Amy, mahalo for your feedback. We are happy you had a great tour. Stay safe and healthy. Aloha
star-5
FANTASTIC
Tiana_G
, Jan 2022
This was the highlight to our trip thus far! If we ever get a chance to come back I would do it all over again. If you’re booking and have the chance to request a driver/guide be SURE to ask for Quinn. He was outstanding. Throughout the whole tour he had many many amazing stories/facts/and dad jokes. He was also very considerate to us and was constantly asking we needed water or a break or if we were all feeling okay as the roads are extremely curved. Thank you a millions times. We have a lot of memories/sites/pictures that we will treasure forever.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Aloha Tiana, mahalo for your feedback and letting other travelers know about your fantastic time with us. Stay healthy and safe and visit again :-)

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Road to Hana Mercedes van with Waterfall Swim, Black Sand Beach and Lunch
Road to Hana Mercedes van with Waterfall Swim, Black Sand Beach and Lunch

star-4.591

9 to 10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$259.99

star-4.5244

13 hours 5 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$249.99

star-4.5544

12 hours 5 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$219.99

star-569

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$721.16

star-4.5286

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$224.99

star-4271

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$217.00

star-536

5 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$446.61

star-5105

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$249.99 $224.99

star-567

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$299.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations