Recent Searches
Clear

Highlights of the Metropolitan Museum Guided Tour

star-4.5189 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
New York, United States
Highlights of the Metropolitan Museum Guided Tour
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

It’s possible to spend an entire day inside the Metropolitan Museum of Art and still not see everything, but this guided Met tour is the best way to take advantage of the riches that are inside one of the world’s greatest art museums. See the highlights of the collection and get special insight into the works of art on display, all within a small-group atmosphere.
  • Skip the entrance lines at the Metropolitan Museum of Art on this tour
  • A guide knows the museum well so you can see more of the Met in less time
  • Visit the rooftop garden for panoramic views of Central Park (October to May only)
  • Small-group tour limited to 15 people provides an intimate experience

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

This express tour skips the line and sees Met highlights in a few hours.
Saved to wishlist!
Local guide
Small groups of only 10 people or fewer
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Food and drinks
Gratuities

Departure Point

1000 5th Ave, New York, NY 10028, USA

1000 5th Ave (The Metropolitan Museum of Art) Meet in the main lobby to the right of the information desk in front of the large seated Pharaoh.

Departure Time

11:00 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
The Metropolitan Museum of Art—or, as it’s affectionately called by New Yorkers, The Met—boasts an immense collection of art and artifacts that span more than 6,000 years of human history. It’s one of the world’s great museums. So great, it has the ability to overwhelm even its most artistically astute visitors. This tour, though, is the antidote to that.

Skip the line and stroll right into the museum. After meeting your guide in the lobby head off with your guide who explains the significance of each piece of art you stop to look at and curates a perfect tour of the museum's highlights.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Walks
An expert guide will lead you through 5,000 years of art, from Ancient Egypt to modern America, in just 3 hours
Duration: 10 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Central Park
Enjoy an iconic museum on miracle mile
Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Metropolitan Museum of Art tour with an informative guide
Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Some pieces of art may not be accessible depending on the rotation of exhibits
  • Rooftop garden is only accessible May through October, weather permitting
  • No flash photography or selfie sticks are permitted
  • Museum is wheelchair accessible; if you cannot access the front entrance via the stairs, there is a ground-level entrance one block south (81st Street and 5th Avenue); the desk there will give you temporary pass and allow you to take the elevator to meet your group in the main lobby
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • From 1st March 2020 the duration of the tour is 2 hours 30 minutes
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Take Walks New York by Walks
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Highlights of the Metropolitan Museum Guided Tour?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Highlights of the Metropolitan Museum Guided Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Highlights of the Metropolitan Museum Guided Tour?
A:The policy on sanitization is:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
See all safety measures taken by Highlights of the Metropolitan Museum Guided Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Highlights of the Metropolitan Museum Guided Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Highlights of the Metropolitan Museum Guided Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "You do not need to exchange your digital voucher, it will be given to you by your guide." See review
  • "While at first this, 3 hours sounds like a long time, inside the Met its actually quite fast." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
189 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 189 reviews
star-5
Wonderful tour
Yeji_C
, Dec 2021
We spent on very fun and informative tour with Kevin. We were late on time but fortunately his colleague could bring us to him. We were able to learn lots of new things that we would never be able to know without his explanation. You must get this tour if you are planning to visit the MET.
star-5
Interesting tour
Nancy_F
, Dec 2021
A way to focus your attention when visiting such a large, crowded museum and to hear stories and backgrounds you might never discover on your own.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Dear Nancy_F, Thank you for joining us on our Highlights of the Metropolitan Museum Guided Tour. We are very glad you enjoyed the stories and background provided so much. We hope your time in New York was everything you wished and that you will have the chance to visit us again, perhaps in other countries, soon! All our best,
star-5
Katie was informative and...
Misti_L
, Dec 2021
Katie was informative and fun! We really enjoyed it and highly recommend. Thanks for all of the great info.
star-5
Excellent Met Museum Tour
CHRIS_W
, Dec 2021
Katherine is an excellent guide. Her art and historical knowledge is extensive. The museum is large so it’s a quick paced tour. There’s still much to see. I highly recommend this tour.
star-1
No one at the museum...
Novlina_Y
, Dec 2021
No one at the museum helped me find the tour, missed the 2 hour express, they gave me a one hour tour when i paid for the two hour. don’t recommend
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Dear Novolina_Y, Thank you for reaching out to us. We apologise for not meeting your expectations on this service, and can only imagine how disappointed you must have been when you reached the meeting point and realised we had already left! Unfortunately our services are subject to strict reservations, so we cannot wait for late clients. That's why we meet 15 minutes prior the actual departure time, to make sure all guests have enough time to join. We truly feel terrible leaving group members behind, but starting later and spending less time inside the Museums would not be fair to the other guests. However, we always do our best to reconnect with our guides when possible, and are very pleased we succeeded in doing this for you. Again, we are very sorry you were not able to follow the entire tour, but hope you understand there is nothing more we could have done. If you have any further questions or concerns please feel free to contact us directly at feedback@walks.org, we will be happy to assist you. Looking forward to hearing from you,
star-5
Amazing Time at the MET
REGINALD_M
, Dec 2021
Excellent experience. Learned a lot. Guide was amazing, knowledgeable and hilarious. Small group which made it nice and intimate.
star-5
Highlight of our trip
Sara_S
, Dec 2021
Katie was AMAZING. She managed the perfect balance of entertaining and informative. We laughed the whole time and learned so much. I can’t recommend this tour enough and Katie especially, she really has a passion for what she does and shares this passion with the group. The MET can be overwhelming to first time visitors and this tour was a perfect introduction. Book it now you won’t regret it!
star-2
False advertising - huge tour group (more than 'maximum') - poor experience
Christina_R
, Nov 2021
Unfortunately, we can't recommend this tour. It was not as advertised and therefore not worth the money - there were way more people than the 'maximum' advertised. Our booking details read "Small groups of only 10 people or fewer" and "This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers" but there were several more than that, and it was way too big of a group for a quality experience. The poor guide really tried hard but we couldn't hear him - because there were so many people, he had to turn his head to look at everyone, and so we missed more than half of what he was saying at all times. 15-minutes in we were having a terrible experience and requested a refund right there on the spot, which Viator will not give us - unbelievable! We ended up veering off and doing our own thing. We tried to keep up with him, but because we could barely hear what he was saying, we were better off looking around and reading the cards ourselves. The tour is "express" so he only picks a few pieces to talk about and then talks about them extensively, speaking quietly and quickly. We actually could hear other tour guides in the museum more loud & clear than we could hear our own. The Met is too large/crowded/loud of a place to be in a big tour group, it has to be an intimate experience, which this was not. Less notably, our booking details said there would be a coat check available and there wasn't, so we had to carry our big coats the whole time, and it said "Skip the line and stroll right into the museum" which is not entirely true..you still have to wait in a long line to go through security (of course) before you meet up with the guide. Our biggest issue was the large group size though because that took away from our experience. It's unethical that Viator would have a false description and then refuse a refund for a poor experience. Will not book anything through Viator again.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Dear Christina _R, Thank you for reviewing our Highlights of the Met. We are terribly sorry we did not meet your expectations as we always try our best to make our guests' time with us memorable, and feel terrible on those rare occasions when this does not happen. We completely agree that large groups take away from the experience and make both interacting and hearing the guides more complicated. That's why we allow a maximum of 15 travellers, which is much less than the average tour operator. But it's definitely not 10, and has it ever been that small. We checked our page and all information seems to be correct. Are you sure you are not referring to another company's description?If not, we would be very grateful if you could point out what gave you that impression, so we can change it immediately. In regards to the skip the line, that refers to the fact we do not need to queue for the tickets, but can of course by no means bypass the security checks, especially now that health and safety are of the outmost importance.That's also why many museums ( including the Met) have decided to close their coat check facilities as an extra safety measure. We understand the inconvenience of having to carry your coat around, but it's completely out of our control. That said though, we are very grateful you pointed this out and will make sure to update the information on our confirmation email to avoid future misunderstandings. Thank you again for reaching out to us and giving us the chance to improve. If you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us directly at feedback@walks.org and we will be glad to assist you. Sincerely,
star-5
Book this tour!
maryJo_m
, Nov 2021
Our guide was an absolute rock star. Thank you Kate!!! You made our visit so special. Informative fun and interesting
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Dear MaryJo, Thank you for trusting us with your holiday! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your Metropolitan Museum tour so much and found our guide Kate to be an absolute rock star! We wish you all the best on your future travels, and hope they will bring you to "walk" with us again soon! All our best,
star-5
Katie and Her Met Tour - Best experience in NYC
Michael_J
, Jan 2020
We enjoyed an educational yet funny and thoroughly enjoyable 3.5 hour tour with Katie at the Met. Katie showed us some of the world famous art pieces at the Met and enhanced the experience with the cultural and artistic backdrop against which the pieces were created. She also showed us some of the hidden gems that we would not have discovered without her guidance. After the tour Katie stayed around to answer questions and even showed a few of us some extra exhibits because she saw we were interested and she clearly loves her job. Best money we spent in NYC.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
We are just delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Met tour with Katie! We are certainly lucky to partner with such wonderful, passionate guides. Thank you for your review.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Highlights of the Metropolitan Museum Guided Tour
Likely to Sell Out
Highlights of the Metropolitan Museum Guided Tour

star-4.5189

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$52.00

star-5153

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$100.70

star-4.56

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$52.00

star-4.5104

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$26.13

star-564

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$100.70

star-4.5137

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$48.99

star-58

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$94.69 $75.20

star-5402

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$50.00

star-53850

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$99.00

Explore Similar Things to Do