Recent Searches
Clear

Northern Lights small group tour, with hot chocolate, pastries and photos

star-4.5134 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Reykjavík, Iceland
Northern Lights small group tour, with hot chocolate, pastries and photos

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Watching the Northern Lights is top of the bucket list for many visitors to Iceland and this evening tour from Reykjavík maximizes your chances of catching nature’s dazzling light show. Venture out into the countryside after dark, stop at remote viewpoints according to the Aurora forecast, and tuck into Icelandic pastries and hot chocolate as you wait for the Lights to make an appearance.
  • Northern Lights small-group tour from Reykjavík
  • Visit Northern Lights viewing spots in the countryside around Reykjavík
  • Maximize your chances of seeing the Aurora Borealis with the help of an expert guide
  • Warm up with hot chocolate and tasty pastries while you wait
  • Small-group limited to 19 people ensures a personalized experience
Saved to wishlist!
Hot chocolate and Icelandic pastries
Live commentary on board
Professional driver/guide
Pickup and drop-off from designated meeting points
All taxes, fees and handling charges
Food and drinks, unless specified

Departure Point

Vonarstræti 10, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

BUS STOP 1 for the following accommodations: Hotel Reykjavik Centrum Centerhotel Plaza Chez Monique Embassy Luxury Apartments Kvosin Downtown Hotel

Return Details

Returns to original departure point

Departure Point

Lækjargata, Reykjavík, Iceland

BUS STOP 2 for the following accommodations: Hotel Holt Castle House Luxury Apartments

Return Details

Returns to original departure point

Departure Point

Lækjargata 4, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

BUS STOP 3 for the following accommodations: Hotel Borg Radisson Blu 1919 Centerhotel Thingholt Apotek hotel City Center Hotel Downtown Hostel Reykjavik Hotel Konsulat by Hilton Loft Hostel

Return Details

Returns to original departure point

Departure Point

Sculpture & Shore Walk 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

BUS STOP 5 for the following accommodations: Centerhotel Arnarhvöll

Return Details

Returns to original departure point

Departure Point

Ingólfsstræti 1, 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

BUS STOP 6 for the following accommodations: Canopy by hilton hotel 101 Hotel

Return Details

Returns to original departure point

Departure Point

Eiríksgata 2 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

BUS STOP 8 for the following accommodations: Hotel Leifur Eiriksson Eric The Red Guesthouse Hotel Óðinsvé Sunna Guesthouse Guesthouse Andrea

Return Details

Returns to original departure point

Departure Point

Snorrabraut 24, 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

BUS STOP 9 for the following accommodations: Skuggi hotel

Return Details

Returns to original departure point

Departure Point

Laugavegur, Reykjavík, Iceland

BUS STOP 10 for the following accommodations: 4th Floor Hotel Alda hotel Centerhotel Laugavegur Phoenix Hotel Heida’s Home

Return Details

Returns to original departure point

Departure Point

Þórunnartún 6, Reykjavík, Iceland

BUS STOP 12 for the following accommodations: Hotel Storm Fosshotel Reykjavík Tower Suites

Return Details

Returns to original departure point

Departure Point

Laugavegur 120, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

BUS STOP 13 for the following accommodations: Fosshotel Lind 105 - A Townhouse hotel Centerhotel Midgardur Fosshotel Rauðará

Return Details

Returns to original departure point

Departure Point

Klapparstígur 5, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

BUS STOP 14 for the following accommodations: Reykjavík Residence Hotel Hotel Sand Centerhotel Klopp CenterHotel Skjaldbreid Hotel Frón Room with a view Hotel Swan house - Reykjavik Apartments

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Please note that the access to restroom facilities out of urban areas is very limited while on the Northern lights tours.
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Even with the best of guides and a detailed forecast, sightings are never guaranteed. If we don’t find any lights on the tour, you can join us again another day for free. You will not be entitled to get a refund, though.
  • A refund is only possible unless the tour never operates while you are in Iceland, which sometimes happens due to unfavorable weather conditions.
  • The tour is operated in a minibus and do not exceed more than 19 people.
  • Availability for tour cannot be checked without making a booking. Credit cards will only be charged upon confirmation of show availability
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 19 travelers
  • OPERATED BY EastWest
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Northern Lights small group tour, with hot chocolate, pastries and photos?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights small group tour, with hot chocolate, pastries and photos.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Northern Lights small group tour, with hot chocolate, pastries and photos?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights small group tour, with hot chocolate, pastries and photos.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
134 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 134 reviews
star-5
Truly magical
Maria_S
, Jan 2022
We definitely saw the Aurora and then some, so blessed and so lucky for such a strong showing! Our guide Gulli was very knowledgeable and super friendly, he found the lights in what felt like minutes! He put everyone at ease with laughter and jokes as soon as they entered the bus. #Yorkshire Our tour was cancelled for the two consecutive nights prior due to poor weather conditions but East West were really helpful is enabling us to rearrange our booking and it was well worth the wait! Thank you for such a memorable experience
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Dear Maria, You had a great encounter with the northern lights indeed! We are very happy about it and we thank you for leaving us this precious 5-star review. As we are talking about a natural phenomenon that is dependant on a series of factors, sightings are never guaranteed and you have been very lucky to spot it so quickly... magics of nature! Maria, maybe you will come back to Iceland in the future for another northern lights hunt? We really look forward to seeing you again on board! Best regards, Mariachiara EastWest Team
star-4
Waited for the Right Moment!
EricJohn_P
, Dec 2021
After few days of almost zero visibility, the sky cleared up and aurora gave excellent show! The only comment I have for the tour.... they picked up us a bit late due to rebooking issue. When I jumped in the bus, almost each all the window seats were ocuppied that leaving the aisle seats available (but not the fault of the tour). Despite that these people were in the same group.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Dear Eric, Thanks for your review and very happy to read that you saw the beautiful northern lights while on tour. :) I think that seeing northern lights should be on everyone´s bucket list! In regards to the pick-up being delayed, sorry about it. We always try our best to pick everyone up during the time frame we have, however, it might happen from time to time that we have some delay - unfortunately. Thanks again for your patience and we hope to see you again on tour with us in the future! Best regards, Mariachiara EastWest Team
star-5
Great Customer Service
Michael_G
, Dec 2021
Unfortunately the weather made it so we weren’t able to go on the trip and it had to be cancelled, but the guide was very proactive in letting us know and they made the refund process incredibly easy, so I feel they deserve credit for that
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Dear Michael, Thanks for your praises to our customer service, much appreciated! We hope you will visit us again in the future and have the chance to join our tour, we would be delighted to have you on board! Best regards, Mariachiara EastWest Team
star-4
Overall good
christine_j
, Dec 2021
Overall, good trip, great guide… but sadly lights didn’t show 😔 it’s the luck of the day…. You can see a ‘green’ line in the one pic…. Pastries are mini doughnuts out of a bag…. Was expecting proper pastries… like pain au choc:
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Dear Christine, Thanks for contributing to our reviews. Unfortunately, the sightseeing of northern lights is never guaranteed as they totally depend on factors that are beyond our control but we are happy to hear that you enjoy the tour overall. The pastries you are mentioning are called "Kleinur" (sing. "Kleina") and they are one of the most popular pastries here in Iceland, good to pair with a coffee or hot chocolate. We get them fresh every day - sorry to hear that you didn´t fully enjoy them. If you come back to Iceland within the next two years, please contact us to join a free re-try! Best regards, Mariachiara EastWest Team
star-5
Magical Dancing Sky
Monique_D
, Dec 2021
What an amazing adventure! We had an amazing tour guide, Carlos, who knew exactly what he was doing and he most certainly did not disappoint! Patience is the name of the game, dress warmly and definitely have some of the hot chocolate!
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Dear Monique, As you rightfully said, patience is the key when it comes to going on a northern lights hunt. We always bring hot chocolate and typical Icelandic pastries to warm you up during the tour, we also have blankets available to make it super cozy. Thanks for your review, we are very happy to read that you had a great time on tour and appreciated Carlos´guidance. We hope you will come to visit us in Iceland sometime again in the future! Best regards, Mariachiara EstWest Team
star-5
Amazing
Henry_P
, Dec 2021
Our guide Coby was fantastic! He took us to a great spot and was helpful with my camera settings. The group were nice and we all had some hot chocolate and pastry.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Dear Henry, Thanks for your review, we will make sure to pass the praises on to Koby, he loves it! Best regards, Mariachiara EastWest Team
star-5
Amazing northern lights experience
Kelly_M
, Dec 2021
What a great time we had in our northern lights tour! We were picked up promptly at the designated pickup spot, our Driver Carlos was very organized and checked everyone was on board. Our tour had been postponed for 2 nights due to weather and on our tour date it started snowing right before we were picked up, so much so we had very low hopes for being able to see the autora boreais, however Carlos remained with a positive attitude and drove us outside Reykjavík and to our surprise he found a spot were we were able to see the northern lights and what an incredible experience that was! Beyond that, Carlos was just as excited as us and went above and beyond in taking many different pictures of all the passengers, one could tell he truly cares for his job and to show the beauties of Iceland. The hot chocolate and pastries were a very great touch considering we had been standing in the cold for about an hour. Would 100% recommend this tour to anyone.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Dear Kelly, Thanks for your words - we can truly feel how exciting this experience has been for you! Carlos has been living here for many years and he still looks at the northern lights with the same awe he had at the beginning - this is a crucial trait and we take pride in knowing that our guides go above and beyond to secure a successful hunt as much as they can. Come back any time, we would love to have you on tour once again! Best regards, Mariachiara EastWest
star-5
Saw Lights and they gave me pictures to prove I was there
Thomas_F
, Nov 2021
We saw the Northern Lights from our guide Simon’s secret spot. Simon’s personality and humor made the night very enjoyable. The lights took some time to show but then continued for such a long time that we had to leave before they were done (it was 1am). We had so much fun. What makes this tour the one to book is 1) small group 2) they take pictures of you with the lights in the background which you can download within the next two days 3) Hot chocolate, pastries and blankets making the wait fun while talking to the guide 4) Great price
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thank you, Thomas, for leaving us this beautiful 5-star review. It is such a joyful moment for our travellers when they get to see the northern lights dancing and lighting up the nordic sky and we cannot be happier. We run tours in minibus only to guarantee a more cosy and personal experience and our experienced guides know the drill! Photos are usually available one or two days after the tour, however, if we experience a high volume of participants and lights are seen for a few days in a row, it might take a little bit longer. :) See you on the next Icelandic adventure! Best regards, Mariachiara EastWest Team
star-5
Memorable experience
Rogelio_H
, Nov 2021
We saw the northern lights!! Our guide Axel Rose was on time and worked hard to show us the northern lights. Take layers it will be cold and you will likely wait for a bit for the lights to show. We waited 1 hour in freezing weather but it was all worth it, thank you! Will never forget the experience.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thanks for your 5-star review, we at EastWest are very happy to read that had a good with our guide and saw the aurora borealis! Best regards, Mariachiara EastWest Team
star-5
WE SAW A SPECTACULAR SHOW!! OMG!!
Reda_Z
, Nov 2021
We went on this tour on Saturday (30.10.2021) and it was the best experience of my life! OH MY GOD not only did we see the lights, we saw them dance and we saw different colours and an INCREDIBLE show it was!! We got lucky as it was a solar storm that night and so the lights were so bright and so magical I can't even explain in words!! Our guide Axel was wonderful, he stopped when they started appearing and let us stay until the clouds took over and they grew faint. He took our photos with his camera and also gave us hot chocolate which was much needed as it was so cold and pastries which tasted like stale plain donuts haha but we gobbled them up gladly. He even drove us out further in the hope to find another spot with no clouds so we could enjoy more but honestly we were all already in a trance after the show we saw! A lifetime experience! Brilliant
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thank you for having joined us on a northern lights hunt - we are super happy when our travelers see the lights and they get the chance to fulfill one of the desires on their bucket list! Northern lights are a display of what mother nature is capable of - mesmerizing, fascinating, breathtaking... come back to visit us whenever you want! Best regards, Mariachiara EastWest Team
1 traveler found this review helpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Northern Lights small group tour, with hot chocolate, pastries and photos
Northern Lights small group tour, with hot chocolate, pastries and photos

star-4.5134

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$92.41

star-4.5208

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$94.96

star-3.5446

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.00

star-412

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$84.00

star-4.539

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$117.83

star-5182

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$72.80

star-593

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$100.19

Explore Similar Things to Do