Recent Searches

Northern Lights Small-Group Minibus Tour from Reykjavik

star-4.5208 Reviews
Badge of Excellence
Reykjavík, Iceland
Northern Lights Small-Group Minibus Tour from Reykjavik

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon3 to 5 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds


Brave the winter chill in search of the Northern Lights on this guided Aurora Borealis tour from Reykjavik. After pickup from your Reykjavik lodging, head out away from city lights in a comfortable minivan until reaching a secluded spot in the Icelandic countryside. Watch the natural light show, and then return to your Reykjavik hotel.
  • Northern Lights tour from Reykjavik
  • Head far from the city lights in a comfortable minivan
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off included
  • Expert guidance to spot the lights
Saved to wishlist!
English-speaking Driver/Guide
Transport by minibus small-group tour max 19 passenger
Pickup and drop-off from your location in Reykjavik or nearest Tour Bus Stops
Free WI-FI with unlimited free browsing
We also pick up from the Cruise Ship Port in Reykjavik (tell us the port and the cruise ship name)
3-hour tour searching for the Northern Lights
A lot of FUN
Luggage are not allowed, only back packs
Refreshments not included
Tripod not included
Warm Clothes, shoes, gloves, and hat not included

Departure Point

Hallgrímstorg 1, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

To know exactly when and where you will be picked up, please check your mailbox or junk mailbox 6-24 hours before the tour begin for our reconfirmation email

Departure Time

9:00 PM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • If you are a Tour Agency please book with the email and mobile phone number of the traveler, so we can deliver addition information
  • To avoid any misunderstanding and negative reviews, we’d like to inform you that this tour is a very much weather depending and can be cancelled up to one hour before the departure time. In this event you will get a full refund if we can't reschedule your tour to another date. (Please note: This is not for the clients that had already joined the tour)
  • Seeing the Northern Lights is not guaranteed even though the tour is operated. The Northern Lights are a natural phenomenon and as part of nature, unpredictable. We cannot guarantee how much you will see on the night you go. The supplier does not offer refunds for customers that have joined the tour
  • We send reconfirmation email about pick up time and location 6 to 24 hours before the tour begins. Please kindly check your email when you are in Iceland
  • Tour may be cancelled up to 1 hour before the tour starts due to unfavourable weather conditions
  • Please check your emails for any updates up to 1 hour before the tour start
  • Minimum age is 5 years, children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Refunds will not be issued if tour/activity is missed due to late or no show
  • We are picking up more passengers, please be at your pickup location on time, the pickup can last up to 45 minutes
  • Tour can take sometimes longer then 3 hours due to Northern Lights appearance
  • Pickup is offered at all Reykjavik hotels, hostels and guesthouses, private homes but you might have to make your way to the nearest Tour Bus Stops. Your hotel reception will help you find it
  • Dress very warm for the weather, it is Iceland very cold nights
  • Tripod very necessary for phones and photo cameras if you have one bring it with you
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Go to joy Iceland reserves the right to delay, alter or cancel any tour due to weather or any other unsafe conditions for the safety of our clients
  • Rebooking northern Lights tour due to bad weather cancellation to the 24-25-26-31 of December and first of January for additional cost difference due to Holidays prices
  • Most travelers can participate
  • We do not offer refunds, whether partial or full, for tours where a sighting was not possible.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 19 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Go to joy Iceland
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the pick up location?
A:We only offer pickup from central districts. Let us know where you are staying in the 'Special Requirements' box in the Traveler Details section during checkout. Or you can let us know after booking by visiting 'Manage my Booking' and emailing us there.
Jul 2019
What is the policy on sanitization during Northern Lights Small-Group Minibus Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Small-Group Minibus Tour from Reykjavik.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Northern Lights Small-Group Minibus Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Small-Group Minibus Tour from Reykjavik.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips

  • "Do dress warmly, as you will be outside a lot." See review


208 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 208 reviews
, Jan 2022
Nice trip north to catch the lights. Helpful and very friendly guide Magnus who made the trip perfekt. Thank you!
Beautiful experience
, Jan 2022
Beautiful experience. Thanks to Magnus who tried to find the best spots in the region and found the right balance between those who wanted to stay awake all night and those who had a tour early in the morning ;-)
, Jan 2022
I think the guide is really professional, but the trip is also sort of energy consuming for those who have to get up early for their next day. The day I participated was unfortunately not strong in KP, but I still capture a glimpse of aurora by my phone in the way the guide introduced. After the trip, actually I didn’t check my photos in the minibus, because I thought there was nothing since I couldn’t see anything in the sky and was too tired. But when I was back to hotel, I saw the northern light photos! Really want to say lots of thanks to the guide!
Would not recommend
, Dec 2021
The tour guide did not communicate well, to start with we sat for 15 minutes in a van with no heat for some unknown reason before embarking on our journey. The conditions were -8 and windy. Half of the group sought refuge in the bus going outside intermittently to view the lights. Our tour guide was nothing short of abusive. He repeatedly made passive aggressive remarks and snide comments to those seeking to warm up a bit. He purposefully left the doors open and blasted static over the radio as a form of torture to those in bus. He took photos with his own camera of each couple and then pressured you to purchase them at the end of the tour, cash only. The lights were beautiful but the evening could have been more pleasant with a considerate guide.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Hello Stepanie, To start with, 17 passengers was happy but only one person complained and speak for the rest of the group on a tour about one of our best guides with a beautiful display of Aurora Borealis. Example, “Joyann_a is customer that was on the same tour with you on the bus she said that your guide was excellent and made sure we saw the lights and took photos of us. He pushed us to get off the bus so we could experience the spectacular views when we would have just stayed on because so cold.” She stated here review just below yours. We do not need to answer or apologise to your negative review, it make us sorry you couldn’t even appreciate a beautiful event.
, Dec 2021
The guide was excellent abs made sure we saw the lights and took photos of us. He pushed us to get off the bus so we could experience thr spectacular views when we would have just stayed on because so cold
2 travelers found this review helpful
Dissapointing experience
, Dec 2021
Unfortunately we didn't see the northern lights as planned. I know that is not the tour operator's fault, we were unlucky. The issue I had was the transportation. Very uncomfortable, we didn't get proper seats, had to sit at the back with another two passenger so no social distance. Basically for the price we paid we only got an uncomfortable 4 hour night drive in a crowded minibus.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Dear Cristian Nutu, Merry Christmas and thank you for taking time to share your experience with us, of course reviews it help us to do better and learn how to satisfy our clients better and better. Honestly we didn’t understand your disappointment, specially one of the customers that was with you on the same tour give us 5 star just the review before you, under name “kevin_g” What a Night and Event! Let me explain. Fortunately we did see the Northern Lights on the night you go for the hunt the 23rd of December 2021, please check our Facebook and Instagram page “gotojoyicelandtour” for the pictures of that night that you ignored. We are operating newly Mercedes Sprinter minibuses, best you can get in the market today and we operate small group no more then 19 passengers. Social distance! I want to ask instead to answer this. When you got on a airplane full of passengers do you get any social distancing? In our buses everyone passenger is obligated to wear mask and sanitise hands before getting in the bus same as any other transportation. We are sorry that you didn’t feel comfortable inside the minibus and you didn’t like the natural phenomenon of the Northern Lights that you said you didn’t see. We don’t know every client expectation but believe us we would love to give best service we can and we would love to get in contact with us if there is any issue before adding any review. We hope you will have better experience and you will enjoy your stay in our beautiful country. Best regards, Go to joy Team.
What a Night and Event!
, Dec 2021
OMG, what a magical night on a very chilly evening! Great time and experience and it’s something I’ll try never forget. Great driver as well. He got us there in a safe capacity and taking individual photos with the Northern Lights behind us was a great touch😍🤓👍🏽!!!
, Dec 2021
Our tour guide was Magnus (triple M) and he was absolutely amazing! I was slightly worried when we seemed to go in a different direction to the other buses but I shouldn’t have been. Magnus knows the NorthernLights so well he took us to the best spots to see them and the photos we got were incredible. Lovely man who was super helpful and made our night so special! Thank you so much!
Do it!
, Dec 2021
I have traveled all around the world and this was one of the most beautiful and breathtaking things I have ever done in my life. Our tour guide Magnus was amazing and very knowledgeable about where to see the lights and getting away from the crowds. Amazing!! 10/10
, Dec 2021
Although we didn’t get to see the northern lights our tour guide(MMM) went above and beyond to try to get the lights
1 traveler found this review helpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Northern Lights Small-Group Minibus Tour from Reykjavik
Northern Lights Small-Group Minibus Tour from Reykjavik


3 to 5 hours

Free Cancellation



8 hours 40 minutes

Free Cancellation



1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours 20 minutes

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do