Recent Searches

Whale Watching & Puffin Luxury Yacht Cruise

star-4.519 Reviews
Badge of Excellence
Reykjavík, Iceland
Whale Watching & Puffin Luxury Yacht Cruise

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon2 hours 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English


Discover Iceland’s aquatic wildlife on a relaxing cruise aboard a spacious yacht. Board your vessel at Reykjavik’s Old Harbor and venture out to Faxafloi Bay, keeping your eyes peeled for whales, dolphins, and, during the summer months, puffins. While you sail, admire the coastline dotted with mountains, Reykjavik landmarks, and small islands.
  • Learn about local wildlife from your onboard guide
  • Enjoy uninterrupted views from the observation deck
  • Share live photos and stay connected with onboard Wi-Fi
  • Warm up with cozy blankets provided by the crew
Saved to wishlist!
Free WiFi
Warm blankets
In case of no sightings, a complimentary ticket to try again free of charge.

Departure Point

Ægisgarður 5, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

Harpa Yachts is the last sales office on Ægisgardur pier, no. 5G From hotels in 101 it´s only few minutes walk to the harbor. Taxi is also very easy and affordable choice.

Departure Time

1:15 PM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 35 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Harpa Yachts
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on sanitization during Whale Watching & Puffin Luxury Yacht Cruise?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Whale Watching & Puffin Luxury Yacht Cruise.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Whale Watching & Puffin Luxury Yacht Cruise?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Whale Watching & Puffin Luxury Yacht Cruise.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More


19 Reviews
4 stars
3 stars

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews
Disappointing and super cold
, Jan 2022
Not the fault of the tour operators but it was more like whale wishing rather than whale watching. The fact is these tours are dependent on other factors so we basically spent 3 hours freezing without whales. Good view of the coastline from the yacht.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Dear Angela. Thank you for taking time to write a review. Up until December we saw humpback whales in 99% of the tours. Since then we have not been so lucky that we see the whales in every tour, but lately the rate is more that 50%. For example, yesterday we saw a family of Killer whales teaching their calves to hunt, which is very rare in this time of the year. If we do not see the whales we offer our passengers to come again free of charge anytime they like in the next years. "Super cold" Hey, this is Iceland and it´s winter! Of course it can be cold outside. That is why our yacht has very cosy and warm interior, where you can warm up after being outside and enjoy hot drinks from the bar. The Harpa Yachts team.
Fantastic time!
, Dec 2021
Fantastic crew and guide ! We were very fortunate to see two humpback whales which was unusual for December. Our guide and crew were very informative and professional. Would absolutely recommend this company and experience.
We paid for a luxury...
, Nov 2021
We paid for a luxury yacht but it wasn’t the one as promised on the pictures. The trip took way longer and no whales were spotted.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Dear Harmon. Thank you for taking time to give us a review. We use two yachts for our tours, MY Harpa and MY Amelia. The yachts are different but both are luxury yachts with nice inside and outside areas. In our website and at all resellers we have pictures of both yachts, text that explains that we use both yachts and it may differ between days and conditions which one is used. Our yachts are in our opinion the best options for whale watching and northern lights in Iceland. The other options are up to 50 years old passenger ferries or converted fishing boats. Regarding a longer tour, we sometimes go the extra mile in effort to find the whales which clearly was not a success this time and we regret that. The Harpa Yachts Team.
Very nice. Saw dolphins...
, Oct 2021
Very nice. Saw dolphins and whales. Very friendly people. Make sure you put on warm clothes because there is a lot of wind out on the sea. I highly recommend to book this tour.
2 travelers found this review helpful
Outstanding experience
, Sep 2021
A trip you cannot miss in Reykjavik the boat is excellent and crew very friendly and knowledgeable. We were very fortunate to have 4 different species sightings. They don’t clock watch so our time was in excess of the three hours. With passengers no more than 35 there is space for everyone in comfort. Very highly recommended
Relaxing and enjoyable yacht whale adventure
, Aug 2021
The captain and 1st mate were very friendly and informative. It is clear our captain had a lot of experience because he could spot a whale off on the horizon. The Yacht was a very smooth and relaxing ride. Have warm drinks and a WC available was great.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Dear Nichole. Thank you for your kind review. Whale watching tours are all different, but it is all about enjoying the ride, the view, the horizon, the birds, the moment and of course the whales if we are lucky. The Harpa Yachts Team
Great small group tour
, Aug 2021
Such an experience, we saw humpback whales and dolphins and the tour was excellent. The crew, captain and assistant were very informative and friendly. The yacht has a good comfortable inside area and spacious outside area with enough space for everyone. This is a tour we can recommend for all.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Dear Helen. Thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you enjoyed the tour and we hope to see you again.
Great tour - saw multiple whales
, Aug 2021
We had a great time on this tour. The guide was awesome - great attitude and clearly passionate about what he does. We saw puffins, humpbacks and minke whales! I appreciated how hard the tour worked to find the whales for us. The only issue was that the listing said would be a group of 35 passengers maximum; that was inaccurate, as I counted 37 passengers on the top deck alone as we sailed out, and there were quite a few more below us. This was a major problem for us but it did feel like false advertising. I would recommend adjusting the listing so the info is accurate. But ultimately it did not ruin our tour in any way and we enjoyed our time.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Dear Rhiann. Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the tour with us. We always try our best to find the whales and we succeed in most of our tours. Regarding the issue with number of passengers. On MY Harpa we have limit of 35 passengers. On MY Amelia Rose we have up to 70 passengers. That day you might have been on the bigger yacht. On that yacht there are three viewing decks and plenty of space for 70 passengers. We will review the text and make sure there is no misunderstanding regarding number of passengers. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again. The Harpa Yachts team.
A great experience
, Aug 2021
The yacht was comfortable with plenty of seating. We saw some mink whales, white (?) nose dolphins, and puffins during our approximately three-hour tour. The bartender was attentive, coming up to the bow to make sure we had enough cocktails. A great experience.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Dear Karen. Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate you taking time to write the review and wish you all the best. The Harpa Yachts team.
Almost whale and puffin tour
, Aug 2021
The boat was nice but the captain was terrible He did not narrate the cruise engage with the guests or assist in any way not even boarding or getting off the boat
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Dear Margue. I was the captain that was with you on that tour and I am truly sorry to read your review. As a captain I have a lot to do in the beginning of the tour and also when we end the tour and people getting of the yacht. Nevertheless I always try to speak a little bit to everyone when boarding and getting off and certainly in the tour. Most of the time in the tour I am on fly deck to look for the whales and I speak a lot to the people up there with me. Unfortunately I am pretty tight up there, but my assistant is talking to other passengers elsewhere on the yacht. This day we saw a lot of whales, Humpback whale and even a Fin whale, which is very rare, so I really hope you all enjoyed the tour with us, even though your experience with me was not what you expected. I will certainly try my best to communicate with everyone in our tours in the future. Einar
1 traveler found this review helpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Whale Watching & Puffin Luxury Yacht Cruise
Whale Watching & Puffin Luxury Yacht Cruise


2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation




Free Cancellation



1 hour

Free Cancellation



4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



6 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



2 hours

Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do