Recent Searches
Clear

Big Bus Washington DC Open Top Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

|
Washington, United States
48

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon1 hour to 1 hour 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 8 more

Overview

Discover the most popular sights in Washington, DC on this relaxing hop-on hop-off bus tour. Drive past many of the top attractions in the nation’s capital — including the White House, the Washington Monument, the National Mall, historic Georgetown, and Arlington National Cemetery, and choose where you want to get off and explore in more detail. Select a 1- or 2-day pass, then hop on at any of the stops on two different routes and get to know the city with an audio commentary. The 2-day Deluxe option includes a Night Tour.
  • Explore the city at your own pace with a Big Bus Washington DC hop-on hop-off bus tour
  • Hop on and off at any of the 9 city-wide stops, and tour four different routes
  • Choose a 1-day pass or opt for a 2-day pass
  • A Night Tour is included with the Deluxe Ticket

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Included Madame Tussauds entry makes this tour a budget-friendly way to visit the popular attraction.
Saved to wishlist!
Recorded commentary on board
One or Two Day Hop on Hop off Bus Ticket
2 Routes - Red Route and Blue Loop
Night Tour included with the Deluxe Ticket
Hotel pickup and drop-off

Departure Point

You may start this tour at any of the stops listed.

Departure Time

See itinerary

Return Details

You may disembark at any of the available stops.
The tour begins with a hop on at any of the 9 stops on two separate routes. Board one of the open-top buses and enjoy the view with recorded audio detailing interesting facts and stories. Learn about the history and happenings of the nation’s capital as the bus rolls along from one location to the next.

Hop-off at any of the attractions for a closer look, then, hop back on when it’s convenient. See the sites on the Red Route (Official National Mall Tour), authorized by the National Park Service and National Mall and Memorial Parks. Take in all the places that are synonymous with the nation’s Capital; The White House, U.S. Capitol, Air and Space Museum, Washington Monument, Jefferson Memorial, FDR Memorial and the Lincoln Memorial are just some of the iconic landmarks.

Travel the Blue Loop (American Heroes Shuttle), to experience the sites and memorials honoring American heroes. You'll travel over the Potomac River leaving Washington, DC behind and visiting Virginia. You can expect to see Arlington National Cemetery and Pentagon City. 

The Deluxe 2-day option including the Panoramic Night Tour let you explore the city under the evening sky, visiting its iconic monuments when they're lit up for a different vantage point.
Itinerary
Duration: 
1 hour 
Operating Schedule:
  First Departure at 10:35 am from Lincoln Memorial North & Vietnam Veterans Memorial (Bus stop at SE corner of 23rd Street NW and Constitution Ave NW700) Last departure at 4:35 pm. Buses depart every 60 minutes.
23rd Street Northwest & Constitution Avenue Northwest
Stop 11 - SE corner of 23rd Street NW and Constitution Ave NW
Points of interest passed by on this route
Lincoln Memorial
 
Arlington National Cemetery
 
Potomac Park
 
Duration: 
1 hour 30 minutes
Operating Schedule:
  First Departure at 10:00 am from 700 L’Enfant Plaza – NW Crosswalk in Front of Spy Museum (Near Capital Bikeshare) Last departure at 5:00 pm. Buses depart every 60 minutes. We have introduced a number of new health & safety measures to reduce the risk associated with the spread of Covid-19 in line with government advice and requirements of the local health authorities. These include regular cleaning of buses and social distancing measures. To uphold these new safety and hygiene standards in keeping our guests safe during the Covid-19 Pandemic, we may have to operate a reduced service and changes to ticket inclusions. This may also include frequency of departures, changes to routes and reduction/removal of stops. Customers are advised to visit our website or to download our app to find out more about our new health and safety measures and for the most update service information to include routes, route times and real live bus tracking.
Capital Bikeshare
Stop 1 - L’Enfant Plaza, Corner Crosswalk in Front of Spy Museum
2 15th St NW
Stop 2 - Washington Monument West (between Jefferson Dr. and Independence Ave)
121 West Basin Dr SW
Stop 3 - FDR and MLK Memorials
100 Daniel French Dr SW
Stop 4 - Lincoln Memorial South & Korean War Memorial
VWJP+MC
Stop 5 - Arlington Cemetery
10th Street Northwest & Constitution Avenue Northwest
Stop 6 - Natural History Museum
Big Bus Tours Washington DC Visitor Center
Stop 7 - City Center & Ford Theater
1401 Pennsylvania Avenue NW
Stop 8 - The White House & Willard Hotel (Outside the Willard Hotel)
600 Independence Ave SW
Stop 9 - Air & Space Museum
800 Maine Ave SW
Stop 10 - Wharf & Potomac Boat Cruise (NE Corner of Maine)
Points of interest passed by on this route
White House
 
Tidal Basin
 
Washington Monument
 
National Mall
 
National Museum of African American History and Culture
 
U.S. Capitol
 
Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden
 
Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial
 
Ford's Theatre
 
Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History
 
Smithsonian American Art Museum
 
Smithsonian Institution Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery
 
Smithsonian Garden
 
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
 
Art Museum of The Americas
 
Department of the Interior Museum
 
Lincoln Memorial
 
Vietnam Veterans Memorial
 
Korean War Veterans Memorial
 
Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial
 
International Spy Museum
 
National Museum of Women in the Arts
 
Black Lives Matter Plaza
 
Duration: 
1 hour 30 minutes
Operating Schedule:
  1 Departure at 19:00 pm from 700 L’Enfant Plaza – NW Crosswalk in Front of Spy Museum (Near Capital Bikeshare). The tour is non stop and will last 90 minutes
Capital Bikeshare
Stop 1 - L’Enfant Plaza, Corner Crosswalk in Front of Spy Museum
Points of interest passed by on this route
Albert Einstein Memorial
 
Washington Monument
 
Jefferson Memorial
 
Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial
 
Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial
 
Vietnam Veterans Memorial
 
White House
 
Chesapeake and Ohio Canal National Historical Park (in Georgetown)
 
The Pentagon
 
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Recorded commentary is available in the following languages: English, Spanish, German, Italian, French, Mandarin, Japanese, and Brazilian Portuguese
  • Operation times are subject to change without notice
  • Classic 1-day ticket will be valid for same day use. Tickets claimed after 2pm will be valid for additional day from time of redemption
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Please note the Panoramic Night Tour is not hop-on-hop-off
  • Masks are required for entry. Social distancing is encouraged from groups separate from your own.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • OPERATED BY Big Bus Tours - USA

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Big Bus Washington DC Open Top Hop-On Hop-Off Tour?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Big Bus Washington DC Open Top Hop-On Hop-Off Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Big Bus Washington DC Open Top Hop-On Hop-Off Tour?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Big Bus Washington DC Open Top Hop-On Hop-Off Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Big Bus Washington DC Open Top Hop-On Hop-Off Tour?
A:
The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Big Bus Washington DC Open Top Hop-On Hop-Off Tour.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Big Bus Washington DC Open Top Hop-On Hop-Off Tour?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 9 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Big Bus Washington DC Open Top Hop-On Hop-Off Tour.
Q:
How often does a bus arrive at each stop during the Big Bus Washington DC Open Top Hop-On Hop-Off Tour?
A:
A bus arrives approximately every hour on both the Red Loop (Official Tour of the National Mall) and the Blue Loop (American Heroes Shuttle.)
Mar 2021
Q:
Do I have to go to a central location to redeem my ticket for the Big Bus Washington DC Open Top Hop-On Hop-Off Tour?
A:
You may redeem your printed or electronic ticket at any of the listed bus stops.
Mar 2021
Q:
How long is a full circle ride on the Big Bus Washington DC Open Top Hop-On Hop-Off Tour without getting off?
A:
The full circuit lasts approximately 1 hour for both the Red Loop (Official Tour of the National Mall) and the Blue Loop (American Heroes Shuttle.)
Mar 2021
Q:
How will I know which stop(s) to use during the Big Bus Washington DC Open Top Hop-On Hop-Off Tour?
A:
Our live guides and pre-recorded commentary will communicate upcoming stops. You can also download our free App for more information on routes and times, and what to see and do at each stop location.
Mar 2021
Q:
Is the Big Bus Washington DC Open Top Hop-On Hop-Off Tour wheelchair accessible?
A:
Yes, we operate wheelchair-accessible vehicles with lifts that can accommodate up to 650 pounds. If you require an accessible vehicle, please let us know in the "Special Requirements" box at checkout.
Mar 2021
Q:
Can I bring a pet with me on the Big Bus Washington DC Open Top Hop-On Hop-Off Tour?
A:
No pets are allowed onboard the bus, except ADA service animals.
Mar 2021
Q:
Can I bring food or drink with me on the Big Bus Washington DC Open Top Hop-On Hop-Off Tour?
A:
No food or alcohol is permitted onboard the bus. Non-alcoholic drinks in screw-top bottles are permitted.
Mar 2021
Q:
Can I bring luggage on the Big Bus Washington DC Open Top Hop-On Hop-Off Tour?
A:
No, luggage is not permitted onboard the bus at this time.
Mar 2021
Q:
Is the upper level of the bus climate controlled?
A:
The upper level of the bus is open-top, so it is not climate controlled.
Jun 2021

Traveler Photos

Reviews

3.5
star-3.5
1,751 Reviews
33%
of surveyed travelers recommend this

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 1,751 reviews
star-1
dire, dreadful, dangerous, disastrous
Andy
, Jun 2021
The driver was so concerned to speed along that when we reached an assigned stop, we told him that we were going to go up to the top deck. Instead of waiting to make sure we had safely gone up and taken a seat, he started the bus while we were ascending. The result was a serious injury that required a trip to the emergency room. This was a dreadful experience.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
We are sorry for your experience. This is not a typical occurrence for many of our guests as our drivers provide ample time for ascent. Your case was unique. Our customer service team will reach out to inquire on your status.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Disappointed
diane_s
, Jun 2021
It was very hard to find the bus stops. The interactive website was not helpful at all. I didn’t make any sense to find where the next stop was or where you were at that point. The bus broke down and made a switch buses. Only got on the bus twice because we found them by accident and ran after them. It was very disappointing
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
We are sorry that your day with us did not meet expectations. The bus switch we performed that day was less than 15 minutes as it was made at our stop 1 location. That bus was readily conditioned and returned to service same day. Please visit with us at stop 1 should you return and we will happily explain the app functions and answer any questions you may have. Do not be afraid to give us another chance to meet your expectations. Thank you!
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Big bus tour
Erma_M
, Jun 2021
Good experience, I enjoyed the tour and commentary. I did not get off at any stops, I was initially interested in just having a riding tour to simply see the sights, rather than on and off the bus.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience. It was our pleasure to facilitate your tour. Visit with us again and thank you for the kind review!
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
DC sites great to see
RBTraveler
, Jun 2021
The sights were great enjoyed the . The initial pick up spot was difficult to find. They have apparently discontinued blue route but they don’t tell you that and the narration tells you to get off and transfer although there is no blue line to transfer to. Also extremely important to watch your head I was struck by a limb of a tree because I did not duck quick enough. There are several times you need to duck throughout trip. All of that said a pleasant way to see lots of great sites in DC.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Hi. Thank you for the feedback. The blue shuttle to Arlington was temporarily suspended. It was noted on our service updates for the last 2 weeks and is indicated on the app. Great news! It’s back! And we go directly into Arlington now! This was the reason for the suspension. Also, our federal partner that maintains the trees along the route have been out to manage the limbs. Thank you for reviewing us and we look forward to seeing you again!
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Bad experience! Don't go on a hot day!
Sierra
, Jun 2021
The driver was great but the organization of this company is terrible. We were waiting for over 45 mins at one of the stops for a bus and ended up just taking an uber to the location We wanted to go (we had timed tickets for the spy museum) no where on the ticket or confirmation email does it say there's an app where we can track the bus. We found this out after we caught up to the bus with 2 hours till the bus stops running. Wish we knew this earlier... then had to wait 30 more mins in 95 degree weather for the bus to continue its route... they did not check for tickets so anyone could have gone on the bus for free. Then we didn't know we needed earphones to hear the commentary and no one handed them out when we got in the bus so we had to find some in a box at the front of the bus... and no air conditioning (poor bus driver too)!!! Never buying again!!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
It sounds like you had a terrible experience compounded by hot weather. We are an open top company. That is our speciality. We run our buses in all weather conditions. It’s possible that you were able to board the bus while it was turned off and sitting idle at stop 1 if the driver was away to the restroom. We leave it open for guests who want to sit down on the bus. Fare checks are done before the bus goes into motion. Please download our Big Bus Tours app for info on stops times, bus tracking and route info.
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Disappointing
Shawn_C
, Jun 2021
It was not as good as I expected. The equipment on the buses you use so you can hear the commentary, a lot of them were broke. One of the buses we were on broke down. Our package was to include the red and blue route. When it came time to get off the bus at the stop where the blue route bus would pick us up at the driver told us where to go and several families got off the bus including ours and we waited for 45 minutes and it never came. Finally the next red route bus came back around and we just got back on that one and they told us that the blue route had been discontinued. This was very discouraging because it caused us to miss seeing Arlington cemetery. We had a lot of wasted time and didn’t get to see all the things that the package was to include.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
So sorry for your experience. The blue line suspension was posted on our website. The stop where you deboarded was the closest stop to Arlington. Good news! Arlington is now available for us to go directly into! We are also running 30 minute schedule and more buses on the road. Thank you for the feedback!
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Fun
Kim_R
, Jun 2021
We liked learning the facts. Since it was so hot, more busses would have improved our trip. The top of the bus was best because of the view. No masks!!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
So glad you enjoyed your trip! The mask mandate in DC is eased although still required to board the bus as we are the Official concessionaire of the National Park Service. Masks are still required on federal grounds. Thanks for being a part of our touring family and love the review!
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
They didn’t pick up us
NickG
, Jun 2021
We got left at a stop for nearly an hour as bus after bus decided not to come to stop #8. It was 90 plus degrees and that made us have to walk miles back to our vehicle with 2 small children. We got denied access to another bus because it sideswiped a car, and then denied access to the next because they wouldn’t let our stroller on board. For the whole day, we got to ride one bus for maybe 10 minutes.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
We are sorry for your experience. The day you were traveling there was a fitness event they limited access to stop 8. Unfortunately road closures are atypical of DC. There was a stop less than 1/4 of a mile away at the Willard (then stop 7.). Downloading the big bus tour app will provide you with live tracking, route info including service updates and stop locations. Again sorry for your experience.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Kids loved the ride
Dautis_P
, Jun 2021
Seeing all the sites and weather was great! Walked when we wanted and got back on. It was great and that’s all I have to say about this!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
We are so happy you enjoyed your trip! Thank you for the wonderful review! Please come again!
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Worst experience and need refund
Sathyanarayan_G
, Jun 2021
I had to wait at the stop mentioned for 2 hours and no one was there to let me know the status. Also I had to pick up the bus at union station and I did not get the bus back and trying to check in different stops and no bus came. They should not have booked if they did not have service. I want my refund back. Cannot reach customer service for refund.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
We do not run out of Union Station so it sounds like you were traveling during Memorial Day when the park service closed the park due to a once a year parade. We ran from union that day in order to provide our guests an experience in spite of the closures. Our app would have showed you the correct stop locations for that day. We apologize for your trip and hope you will try us again when conditions are more favorable.
HelpfulHelpful

Explore Similar Things to Do